Clem and Bob

Do you take something from the people whose paths cross yours?

I try to.  I’ve taken examples of the work ethic of others and tried to make them my own.  And I’ve taken examples of the bad behavior of others and tried to avoid making the same mistakes.

I took something from Clem Roy and Bob Paquette many years ago. 

Clem died Tuesday.  64.  Brain cancer.  He was a lobbyist at the Capitol, but lobbyist is just something to call him.  He was a man in full.  A ladies’ man I met when, years ago, he’d come calling on one of my colleagues.  I enjoyed talking to him.  I learned things.  Our conversations made me better.

Bob died over the weekend.  55.  Apparent heart attack.  Bob handled the local information on NPR’s “Morning Edition” on WFCR in Amherst.  He was, by all accounts, not only the voice of the station, but also its conscience.  WFCR is at UMass, where Bob and I met as students.  We worked at WMUA, the student-run radio station.  I admired his commitment to excellence.  But more than that, I admired his sincerity.  It was a trait I envied but could never equal.

I hadn’t seen either man in years.  But I thank them for their contributions to my life.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed, People and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Clem and Bob

  1. Lovely post, a thank you from across the pond in the UK. Some people leave something with you. These two sound like memorable characters.

    • Gerry says:

      Thank you Kate, and thanks for checking in. I just checked out your blog, and I look forward to reading it. More than that, I look forward to a visit “across the pond.”

  2. Nice post, Gerry. Didn’t know Clem, but he was obviously another one of the good guys. A man in full. Haven’t thought of that one since reading Tom Wolfe’s book. It’s a good phrase to keep in the language. Especially at times like this.

  3. JH says:

    I too knew Clem, and am saddened by his passing. I spent time sharing experiences with a truly wonderful person. He will be missed.

Leave a Reply

