Overheard

In waiting room this morning after checking in.

Voice from around the corner:  “I try to stay away from watching the news.  I hate getting bad news.”

Me, because I couldn’t resist:  “I try to stay away from this place because I hate getting bad news.”

Ten minutes later at the gas station.  My back is to the person at the next pump.

Voice:  Gerry Brooks?

Me:  You recognize me by my ass?

Voice:  Yeah.  It’s not a bad ass.

Me:  You’re not a woman with a deep voice, are you?

Voice:  Nope.

I think it’s gonna be one of those weeks.  Just a feeling.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed, People. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Overheard

  1. Michael says:

    Well, at least the world didn’t end… yet.

  2. Steve L says:

    “Well I’m not the world’s most masculine man, but I know what I am and that I’m a man….LaLaLa LOLA!”

  3. Mary says:

    It sure is going to be one of those weeks, but at least we are all still here. The infamous Gerry Brooks, I’ll reserve judgement on the topic at hand.

  4. Jim says:

    Um–Ahh, well, I had this comment about the ass thing….but nah,I gotta go get a bandage for my tongue.Some things are best left alone.

  5. Gerry says:

    Hey, I know I set myself up on this one. No need to stifle yourselves!

  6. Steve L says:

    Be happy to pick up the slack!

  7. Kathy L says:

    Cheer up, Gerry! It could have been worse. At least he didn’t mistake you for Chaz Bono!!

  8. Great comeback in the waiting room!

Leave a Reply

