A Big Time Anchor Steps Down

Katie Couric’s last broadcast on the CBS Evening News was Thursday.   This post is not about her.  She departed after just five years, and will always be better known for her work on the Today show.

No, this post is about Mary Hart

Tonight marks her last broadcast as co-anchor of Entertainment Tonight.

Hart lasted 29 years in the chair, and outlasted 5 co-anchors.  On any kind of news and information program, that is remarkable.  Nesti-esque, even.

And what does she take away from those 29 years (including being the inspiration for a memorable episode of Seinfeld)?

Make sure you get to number-one on this Letterman Top Ten list.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, News, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Big Time Anchor Steps Down

  1. Beckie says:

    Thanks, Gerry! I’m so sick of hearing about Couric. And I really hope Mary Hart doesn’t get swept under the rug. She’s RETIRING….not leaving to make more money.

  2. James says:

    “Nesti-esque”. Brilliant, I love it!

  3. Mary says:

    A classy women who is as genuine as they come, I wish her well on her retirement. I can only hope to look that good at her age.

  4. joan says:

    We should all be so lucky as to achieve Nesti-esque longevity!!!

  5. Cat says:

    Saw that the other night, she will continue on , always the lady that she is.
    Gerry I know this is about Mary, but may I just say how very happy I was to see Mr. Argianas back on Channel 30 this evening.
    I don’t quite understand the shuffle of weathermen these days, for some stations it was a great move on their part.
    If I may be “Frank”, I don’t care how some try to be so “Foxy” about cutting someone out of the picture, just to make room for others.
    I remember when Mr . Argianas started with 30 years back, he is and continues to be good at what he does.
    Just goes to show why Channel 30 works so well, you have class, something the other stations don’t.
    So,,, much luck to Ms. Hart and welcome home Garrett !
    Have a great weekend Gerry : )

Leave a Reply

