One Thing Leads to Another

I’m reading a novel by an author I’d never read before.  Ernest Hemingway.

I don’t know why I’d never read Hemingway.  I’m just old enough that my first recollection of him was when he blew his brains out in 1961.  I asked what the big deal was, and was told he was a great writer.

So 50 years later, I finally picked up The Sun Also Rises

I got there by reading another book called The Paris WifeIt’s about Hemingway’s first wife Hadley, and their years together in Paris.  It’s billed as a novel, but based on her letters, it seems to blur the line between fiction and non-fiction.

Hemingway wrote The Sun Also Rises while married to Hadley.  (As a “parting gift” when their marriage ended, he gave her all the royalties from the book.)  Much of the book was written after they attended the bullfights in Pamplona with friends.  That wine-soaked trip was the basis for much of the novel.

So I’m having a grand time reading an 85-year-old novel that doesn’t feel its age.   As a matter of fact,  Hemingway’s bold young matador, Pedro Romero, could end up turning into Antonio Barrera, a matador held together by stitches and surgeries, who is the subject of a lengthy feature in last week’s Sports Illustrated.

I never would have read a feature on a bullfighter if I wasn’t reading The Sun Also Rises, which I never would have read if I hadn’t read The Paris Wife.

One thing really does lead to another.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Media, People and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Thing Leads to Another

  1. Wendy says:

    Happy to hear you are reading Hemingway. Might I be bold enough to suggest that you try The Old Man and the Sea and/or For Whom the Bell Tolls? Both are more than excellent, but I especially urge you to read The Old Man and the Sea! Enjoy!

  2. amyparmenter says:

    And now I will read the Sun Also Rises…because I read your blog.

    And maybe someone will get a colonoscopy because…. oh never mind.

    See, one thing really does lead to another.

    :0P

    Amy Parmenter

  3. Joan says:

    The Paris Wife was just added to our book club list, and, since I was the one that had recommended it, I’m hoping it’s good. I believe I had seen it either in the NYTimes or Hartford Courant. Can’t remember which one. Did you enjoy it?

    • Gerry says:

      I did, Joan. I’m still not entirely certain how much was fiction and how much was fact, but she did a nice job of setting the time and place.

  4. Gene Henson says:

    Try A Farewell to Arms, one of the best anti-war books ever written. I powerful story of love and disaster in the first world war. He was something.

  5. Gene Henson says:

    Oh yeah. I forgot to mention “By Line Ernest Hemingway”, a book full of his dispatches to the Toronto Star, leading up to WWII. (the BIG war) As a newsman, I think you’ll love this one. (Can you tell I’m a Hemingway nut?)

  6. Don Pesci says:

    When Andrée and I were in Madrid several years ago looking for an eatery, we found a restaurant sporting a large sign that said “Hemmingway Ate Here.” Hemingway was the George Washington of eateries in Spain. A few doors down from this one was a smaller restaurant with a makeshift sign in its window: “Hemingway did not eat here.” We ate there. Good food.

Leave a Reply

