Analyze This

Why does everything have to be analyzed and talked to death?

We’ve all seen the picture.  The President and top brass monitoring the bin Laden operation last Sunday.

For some reason, Hillary Clinton now feels compelled to explain her pose captured in that fleeting moment.  Said Clinton:  “I am somewhat sheepishly concerned that it was my preventing one of my early spring allergic coughs.”

I really don’t care if she was stifling a yawn or belching or throwing up.  Not everything demands explanation.  And heaven knows there must be plenty of other things in her life to be “sheepishly concerned” about.

If she feels so compelled to explain herself for a picture, how about this one, taken Monday with Australia’s Foreign Minister.

"I think I threw back one too many Foster's with this guy."

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, News, Noticed, People, Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Analyze This

  1. James says:

    Gerry – I agree, TMI. I initially thought, when I first saw that photo, that she was shocked watching humans losing their lives in a firefight. Frankly, this should have been a good lesson for those in the Situation Room (and for members of the House and Senate as well). When they send troops off to execute foreign policy, people die – our people, their people and the innocent bystanders as well.

    Hillary apparently felt the need to prove that she was a tough as the guys in this situation and released that fool statement. Whereas, I had more respect for her when I thought she was shocked at the brutality of a firefight.

    I’m not saying that we shouldn’t have gone after Bin Laden and his people, just that the people who give orders need to know that it’s not a video game out there – the pointy end of the sword can get pretty damn bloody.

    There are too many arm chair warriors in the government, who have never heard a shot fired in anger nor seen the aftermath of their decisions. Worse yet, since the end of the draft system, it isn’t their sons, daughters and grandkids who are paying the price, so they have no stake in the game. And if there is one thing that history should have taught us by now, it’s that when you divorce the consequences of an action from the action itself – bad things happen.

  2. Gene says:

    “Why does everything have to be analyzed and talked to death?”

    OK. I know that was rhetorical, but with 24 hour cable “news” programming they need to do something to fill time so they analyze everything. And they have to spin it according to their network politics. It just takes one to toss that beach ball up and they will all bat it around until something “better” comes along.

    Unfortunately, too much of what passes for news is just the flavor of the day. Is it any wonder our elected representatives haven’t been able to craft any long term solutions to our problems? The “public” has more interest in “reality” (the misnomer of all time) TV than national issues.

    OK. Sorry about the rant. I promise to take my meds and sit quietly in the corner now.

  3. Gene II says:

    WHat Gene I said, plus: Between the paparazzi and over zealous news reporters, what would you expect?

    It’s right up there with all the BS over using Geronimo as a code word for the evil one.

    Makes me glad I’m the age I am.

  4. Steve L says:

    Somebody put on the reel of Monica and Bill by mistake.

  5. Gene says:

    I have to agree with James about armchair warriors. I came across an intersting site on that topic the other day.

    http://www.catholicarrogance.org/about/chickenhawks.html

Leave a Reply

