My Forsythia

Well, not anymore.  But it used to be.

In the course of running errands Thursday, I drove by our old house to see the forsythia I planted years ago.  Or more accurately, to see if it was still there.  I don’t drive by that often, but if you’re going to check out forsythia, now is, of course, the time. 

I also like to see how the house, built in 1985, has evolved over the years.  We had 17 really good years there, and I hope the current owners (the house changed hands again a few years ago) enjoy it as much as we did.

As I surveyed this landscaping effort of long ago, I felt as good about it as the day I planted all of those bushes.  A newscast disappears into thin air as you do it.  This has at least an illusion of permanence about it.  I sat for a moment and thought, “I did that.”

Now?  I do windows.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed, Weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Forsythia

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Today is our wedding anniversary, henceforth also a Royal Event apparently. Our reception was at a place called Jules’ Mansion where the forsythia were in spectacular bloom more than three decades ago. Your picture brings the memory vividly back to life.

    Thanks.

  2. empty says:

    I am sure the poor(screwed) guy who has to cut them twice a year thanks you too…

  3. Linda says:

    Congratulations, Gerry, on your 30th wedding anniversary. And I also wanted to congratulate you on being voted Hartford Advocate’s Best TV News Anchor. Job well done!

  4. Mary says:

    The old drive by, I’ve done it from time to time, a lot of great memories………….. Congrats to all the anniversaries. I also saw the honor in the Advocate, nice job Gerry, well deserved.

  5. Kevin says:

    congrats on both honors Gerry. I always believed that forsythia makes for good neighbors.

  6. Azaleas. Pear trees. Camelia. Cherry trees. Something’s always blooming down here in North Carolina. But my favorite is the forsythia. It’s the first thing to bloom in the spring up there. Down here the camilias and pear trees beat them to the punch. But it’s the forsythia that makes my day. Nice post.

    And.

    I was going to say something half clever about the teleprompter guy’s passing. But my teleprompter’s not working. What can I say?

Leave a Reply

