Bubble Boys and Bubble Girls

In an effort to keep children from ever skinning a knee or, heaven help us, getting stitches, the New York State Health Department put wiffle ball, tag, and games like “Steal the Bacon” on a list of activities that could be dangerous to kids.

(Let me digress.  I’ve never heard of “Steal the Bacon.”  I’m sure it’s innocent enough, but it sounds filthy.  Maybe that’s just me.)

After being thoroughly and properly ridiculed, the Health Department did an about face, and tore up the list.

This is good for Connecticut’s economy, because Wiffle® is not only an institution, it is a Shelton-based company, and we need to crank out all the Wiffle® balls and bats we can.

And it’s good for parents to know that their helmeted, goggled, and well-padded children can continue to play Wiffle® ball and tag without fear of critical injury or arrest.

But Steal the Bacon?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Bubble Boys and Bubble Girls

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Are we raising “Gen-Nerd”?

  2. melissa says:

    Thats just crazy! My guys are “real” boys who get scrapes, bruises, and yes even bleed on ocassion. People need to relax. Let kids be kids and have some fun. Whiffle ball is a staple of childhood. Whats next? Banning jump rope because kids can get tangled up?
    I say suck it up get outside and dont come back in until dinner.

  3. hendu says:

    Here is what “steal the bacon is” http://www.gameskidsplay.net/games/chasing_games/bacon.htm
    You are welcome.
    BTW, Wiffle ball is my all-time favorite game

    • Kevin says:

      same here, my slider is still unhittable. I wonder if they still have Bert Blyleven on the box cover?

    • Gerry says:

      Really? That’s it? Bleh.

      • Kevin says:

        oh boy, to the chalkboard?

        How many times must I write:
        I will not comment on Gerry’s blog unless I have something of value to add to the conversation.

      • Gerry says:

        No, no! I was referring to Hendu’s link explaining what Steal the bacon is!!! It just appeared under your reply. I’ll stand in the box against your slider any day!!!

      • Kevin says:

        too funny Gerry, good to know, I thought I had broken a classroom rule.

        Be warned,you step into the box, expect to hear the sweet whistling sound of wiffle chin music, think Joba/Youk.

      • Gerry says:

        No rules here. And I hope your neck is in good shape, because it’ll have to turn quicker than a whip when I crush your freakin’ slider.

  4. Mary says:

    My goodness what is this world coming to, let kids be kids and play some old fashion games, it’s far better than sitting in front of a gaming system or computer. My husband and I raised 2 daughters, both had stitches prior to age 5 and countless bumps and brusies. They are now well adjusted young ladies, who still enjoy a good game of wiffle ball.

    • Beckie says:

      My inlaws raised 4 boys (all born in a 5 yr. age span, so they had a 5-, 3- and 2-yr. old when the youngest was born. And ALL boys. UGH!) They were in the ER almost every week for stitches, xrays, etc. for one of them, usually from things like tripping on a rock while playing football or tag, or a split lip because one of them smacked his brother in a case of sibling rivalry.
      They all are healthy and happy and have fond memories of childhood. How did we all survive without all these safety rules?

  5. Beckie says:

    As a relatively new parent, and a parent of a former micropreemie, I’ve been bombarded with advice to keep my daughter safe and healthy.
    Ya know what? Kids are kids. They ARE going to get hurt. They ARE going to get sick. And I WANT her to! It means she’s learning and having fun. I DON’T want her to get seriously hurt or seriously ill, but a skinned knee while riding her learning to ride her “bike” (actually, a Fischer-Price pink 4-wheeled motorcycle) or a sniffle from playing with lots of other kids is perfectly acceptable to me.

  6. Kathy L says:

    First, it was bike helmets… My middle school aged niece, in Mass, told me they can’t wave at anyone in the halls bacause THEY MIGHT STICK A FINGER IN SOMEONE’S EYE!!!!!!! Let alone Steal their Bacon.

  7. Jean says:

    On summer vacation as kids the friends we inevitably made wanted us to play Steal the Bacon. We immediately declined, were totally grossed out, and never did find out what it was. We didn’t need to–the name was enough.

  8. Steve L says:

    It’s “Steal the car” or “Steal the jewelry” that we have to keep them from playing!

  9. Gerry says:

    Lots of great comments. Thank you all.
    The true and holy rite of passage in my family was the first trip to the e.r. at Framingham Union Hospital for stitches.

  10. magsx2 says:

    Hi Gerry,
    I’m not a great believer in wrapping kids up in “cotton wool” is a saying here in OZ, I think kids need to experience all kinds of things, including scrapes, bruises etc. this is just life I feel, and it’s all part of learning as well.

  11. Cat says:

    Nothing to do with what you wrote here, however, let kids be kids, with that said:
    I want to wish you a big CONGRATS on being named the best newscaster in Ct…
    That made my day and I’m sure put a smile on your face : )
    People know in this state who is number 1….. Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy..
    Enjoy the weekend, Mr Brooks……

Leave a Reply

