Earp. Excuse Me.

Today is actor Hugh O’Brian‘s 86th birthday.

O’Brian gained fame as television’s Wyatt Earp. 

Later in life, he used his name and fame to establish HOBY, the “Hugh O’Brian Youth” Leadership Organization.

I know this, because it benefitted from proceeds from the Greater Hartford Open in the 80’s.  I know this, because the Greater Hartford Jaycees invited me to speak to a large HOBY gathering.  I remember this, because it was the only time I ever forgot to show up for a speaking engagement.  They sent me a framed photograph of the podium with no one standing behind it.  (In good humor.  I was forgiven.)

So happy birthday, Hugh.  You are not forgotten.  And as long as I’m around, you never will be.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed, People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Earp. Excuse Me.

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Long live his fame, long live his glory, and long may his story be told.

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Um, like the song already said.

  3. It’s okay that I laughed about you forgetting to be there, right? Great that HOPY had a sense of humor about it. I think that photo would have to be among your favorites?

  4. Beckie says:

    My mother had such a crush on Hugh O’Brien when she was growing up! I’ve heard the story a million times.

    • Gerry says:

      The studios cranked out a lot of “leading man” types for TV in the fifties. Hugh O’Brian was right up there in the genre with James Garner and Gene Barry, just to name two.

  5. Shirley Stepanczak says:

    I still have the only record album he ever recorded.

Leave a Reply

