Green Around the Gills

I believe I can count on less than one hand the number of blog posts I’ve written that have extolled the virtues of my employer.

This is one.

It’s “Earth Week.”  All week long, we will be airing environmentally friendly stories, because, as we have like to say, “Green is Universal.”  (NBC Universal.  Get it?)

By the end of weeks like this, I’ve usually felt a tad overexposed to Mother Earth, but this week will end with something truly useful:  an electronics recycling drive.

It will be Saturday from 9 to noon at Dr. Energy Saver, 28 Progress Avenue in Seymour, and at NBC Connecticut World Headquarters at 1422 New Britain Avenue in West Hartford.

Here’s a list of the electronics you can recycle, absolutely free.  So go through your basement or garage, and commit to getting rid of that 13-inch Zenith black-and-white that’s been gathering dust on a shelf for years.

The other fringe benefit of this post is that my boss will see it.  And he’ll think I want something.

Heh, heh, heh.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, TV Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Green Around the Gills

  1. Gene says:

    How many is “less than one”?

    Anyway, we have electronics recycling at our town transfer station. When they started a few months ago it was advertised as part of a new state law that all cities and towns were supposed to do this.

  2. RJM says:

    Don’t you just hate when you occasionally have to listen to your boss?

  3. Graham says:

    This is great! My wife is already making up a list of things to bring down. See you Saturday!

  4. Mary says:

    Gerry, what is your boss thinking………… You love a good cause, making him happy is return enough.

  5. I’m in Amherst, Mass. right now. Bumper sticker capital of America. That picture of the guy hugging the tree should be on this village’s town seal. Don’t get me wrong, I love Amherst. But it does take itself a tad too seriously at times.

  6. EA says:

    Thanks Gerry! 🙂

Leave a Reply

