AMC, OLTL, and S

They’ve been dropping like flies.  Call them soap operas, call them daytime dramas.  Soon, you’ll be calling them extinct.

ABC dropped a bomb on the genre, when it announced Thursday that “All My Children” (AMC) and “One Life to Live” (OLTL), will go off the air in September and January respectively. 

That leaves only ABC’s “General Hospital” (GH), NBC’s “Days of Our Lives” (DOOL), and CBS’s “The Young and the Restless” (TYATR) and “The Bold and the Beautiful” (TBATB).

I feel bad for those of you who may still watch what my grandmother called her “stories.”  They are addictive.  My guilty pleasures were the early 80’s primetime soaps, “Dallas,” “Falcon Crest,” and “Dynasty.”

But I did get sucked into watching one daytime soap in 1974, my first year as a radio reporter in New Haven.  It was on as I had a bite to eat before going to work on the night shift.

Somerset.” (S). ((Can there be a one-letter acronym?))

Ted Danson on "Somerset"

All I remember about “Somerset” is that it was the only thing that appealed to me in its afternoon time slot in my three-channel universe.  And there was this guy I thought was a pretty good young actor.

Ted Danson.

AMC and OLTL are going to be replaced by new lifestyle shows.

Just what we need.  More perky people telling us how to live our lives.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to AMC, OLTL, and S

  1. Amy says:

    Wow, Gerry! My grandpa still watches GH as do I…and he still calls it his “stories” too! Those shows will be missed by a lot of people…

  2. Wendy says:

    Gosh, Gerry ~ My grandmother and mother and I used to listen to “Search for Tomorrow”, “The Guiding Light”, and “Our Gal Sunday” on the radio every day! Then came TV, and we watched on TV. No one looked right as we’d used our imaginations for the characters. They are gone along with “As the World Turns”, now…Lots of fine actors and actresses got their starts and still do on the soaps. Many of them double their roles between broadway shows and the “stories”. I am so sick of reality TV; I want Gary Moore, Carol Burnett, Mike Douglas, and that ilk back for enjoyment.

  3. Cheryl Rice says:

    You’re overthinking the acronyms for the CBS shows. It’s just Y&R and B&B.

    Really, though … there’s something fascinating, just from a dramatic perspective, about story arcs that last years (or decades). And about actors who portray the same characters for twenty, thirty years. If we lose this genre, we will have lost something pretty special. Time marches on, I guess.

  4. J.A. Scott says:

    I understand that ABC moved production of AMC from NYC to LA last year. (I’m not mocking; just lazy.) I feel bad for all those people who uprooted their lives, only to have this happen.

  5. Gene says:

    When I was a kid (a long, long time ago) television came to our rural area and we tended to watch anything that was on. During the summer (school vacation) I began to follow one of the soaps. I kept watching to see how some “situation” was resolved, but as soon as it was the show seamlessly shifted to another one. I have never watched since then. Probably explains why I became an engineer rather than a politician.

  6. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Best thing about soaps – what little I watched – was that a guy could commit a crime, get arrested, be tried, convicted, and do his time all in about two weeks!

    Talk about bureaucratic efficiency.

  7. joe west haven says:

    my wife and daughter are going to be beside themselve. they watch all 3 abc shows. hey at least GH will still be there for them. They as well as my mother in law called them their stories. I thought they’d be here forever. just goes to show nothing last that long anymore….

  8. Cat says:

    GH is the reason I went into nursing.
    I figured the hospital would be filled with handsome doctors and as we see, everyone survives even the most terrible events… Ha!
    Talk about reality…..
    If I could find just one Noah Drake, I’d be very happy..
    Till then…………
    Enjoy your weekend Gerry.

  9. Linda says:

    I was shocked when I heard about the cancellations. I watched both those soaps when I had babies napping. I did get hooked for a couple of years, then working became a necessity. What I think is terrible about the whole thing is that ABC uprooted a lot of lives to move out to the West Coast and now that everyone is settled, they cancel the shows. Falcon Crest was my favorite prime time soap and I was actually watching Dallas in the hospital during labor with my first daughter. Not that I’m home during the day anymore, but I agree – I wouldn’t watch perky people telling me how to live.

  10. lauren says:

    I’ve grown up watching AMC and OLTL. We had 4 generations of our family watching those shows. They will be greatly missed. I believe they are making a big mistake taking them off the air. I have been DVRing the shows to watch when I come home from work and can relax with them. I hate reality shows and can gaurentee I won’t be watching them. I’m a nurse and I get plenty of reality at work. When I watch T.V. I want entertainment.

  11. saherm says:

    I agree. We have enough of reality shows. I want my soaps back. I am really disgusted by ABC for doing this. I hope they come to their senses and reconsider this. This is a really bad move on their part.

  12. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    In reality, reality shows are nothing more than re-packaged soaps. Only worse.

Leave a Reply

