Sorry, Heifers

“This is John calling from Heifer International.  Is Mrs. Brooks home?”

“No.  Can I take a…did you say Heifer International?”

“Yes, sir.  She’s donated in the past, and I’m calling…”

“Heifer International?  Is this something Norm from ‘Cheers’ is involved in?  Does this have anything to do with the Happy Heifer?”

“Sir, why don’t I call back when Mrs. Brooks is home.”

“Yes, why don’t you.”

He should have called me a**hole instead of sir. 

I had never heard of Heifer International.  As it turns out, they do more good in an hour trying to end hunger and poverty than I will in my lifetime.

Consider this post a make-good for my ignorance.

Now I know.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, People and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sorry, Heifers

  1. Susan Goldstein says:

    Good for you, Gerry, for taking advantage of this “teachable moment!” They’re one of my favorite gift-giving charities for those occasions when the recipients really don’t need anything for themselves. And so affordable, at least for the small animals like chickens and ducks!

  2. Ted M says:

    They were one of the charities of choice for our charity wedding registry. You could always log on to their site and buy a water buffalo to relieve your guilt. (Or a llama or some bunnies if you feel less guilty.)

  3. bob says:

    I did the same “bull” headed thing about three years ago…including a very sarcastic comment to my boss to boot…then found out it is a very good organization and worthy of an annual donation

  4. Mary says:

    I had never heard of them either, sounds like they’re making a difference in people’s lives, I like the hand up not out motto. People get far more benefits when they can feel good about themselves, and then in turn for someone in the same situation they were in.

  5. Paul says:

    It’s a very good program.

    A couple of years ago a friend of ours gave a water buffalo to a village in our name.

    I sent her a note saying “Thanks for the water buffalo. It was delicious”. She didn’t think it was funny.

    I guess sick humor and charitable giving don’t mix.

  6. magsx2 says:

    Hi Gerry,
    I have never heard of this Charity either. It certainly does sound like they do very good work. It was very nice of you to put them in a post on your blog, to make up for the “mistake”.

  7. Kathy L says:

    They’ve been around a looong time. Back in my Sunday school days, decades ago, we would collect our pennies and dimes to donate to Project Heifer. I like that idea of the bridal registry…

Leave a Reply

