Not Intended To Be A Factual Statement

Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert, America’s premier fake newsmen, are having a field day with Sen. Jon Kyl (R-AZ).

In case you missed it, Kyl said last week that 90% of Planned Parenthood’s services revolve around abortion.  The actual number is more like 3%.

Kyl and Colbert

I respect whatever your position on the issue is, but Kyl’s office then made his position worse by issuing a statement saying his words were “not intended to be a factual statement.”

Oh. My. God.

Colbert has been hammering Kyl non-stop on Twitter.  You have to check out his Twitter page.

All of the above on this post was intended to be factual.  As far as I know.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Media, News, People, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Not Intended To Be A Factual Statement

  1. Mary says:

    I guess we can get away with saying anything, and just throw in ( not factual ) and we’re in the clear. When a representative has so many helping hands, you’d think he’d actually use their help before one comment haunts him over and over. Makes you shake your head. Seems I’m doing a lot of shaking of the head with our government lately.

  2. Jim says:

    Gerry Brooks and Tiger Woods team up for TPC Pro Am in 2011…OOPS….sorry! Not intended to be a factual statement.

  3. James says:

    The level of our political rhetoric has gone from –
    “That depends upon what your definition of ‘is’ is” to
    “He didn’t say that. He was reading what was given to him in a speech.” ~Richard Darman, director of the Office of Management and Budget, explaining why President Bush wasn’t following up on his campaign pledge that there would be no loss of wetlands to
    “I mis-spoke” to
    “Not intended to be a factual statement”.

    As long as the public lets politicians (and others) get away with this kind of crap – then they’ll keep shoveling it!

    My personal favorite response to all of this is – “Politicians are like diapers. They both need changing regularly and for the same reason.”

  4. Gene says:

    That seems to be an appropriate on-screen caption for most politicians speaking in public.

  5. Gerry says:

    Or maybe, “I’m here to serve you, not my own inflated ego.”
    #oopsthatisafactualstatement

  6. Steve L says:

    Oh, the places I could go with this post. I am going to show restraint. It’s killing me Gerry but I am not going to say a word.

  7. Not Factual says:

    Yea, terrible, and there is more at notintendedtobeafactualstatement dot com

Leave a Reply

