A Hero in our Midst

Maybe you’ve heard of him.  His name is Bill Cosby. 

The most successful African-American in the history of show business is rich enough to live out his wildest fantasies wherever he pleases. 

Lucky for us, his wildest fantasies include contributing to his community, and an educating our children.  

Pitching for education.

At the age of 73, his day started yesterday in New York on the Today Show, as part of NBC’s Education Nation initiative.  He appeared with the president of Southern Connecticut State University, Dr. Stanley Battle.  They discussed his frequent visits to New Haven, and his continuing efforts to motivate city kids to learn, and motivate their parents to make sure they do.  (His indictment of Donald Trump’s talk of a presidential run just happened to be a bonus.) 

A longtime resident of Western Massachusetts, his day ended in Springfield, at a testimonial for the retiring police chief of Holyoke.

In a time when too many Americans are inexplicably enamored of celebrity and celebrities, Bill Cosby, who created and starred in the most popular sitcom in television history, is one who actually puts his feet on the street and touches lives. 

The star of television’s current top sitcom is also coming to Connecticut.  On Saturday night, you can see Charlie Sheen deliver a different kind of message at the Oakdale. 

I’ll take the old guy.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Hero in our Midst

  1. Vance Leavon says:

    You mean the same Bill Cosby who settled a sexual assault charge in 2006 where he doped a woman up on benadryl and sexually assaulted her? The same Bill Cosby who said AIDS was “started by human beings to get after certain people they don’t like”? If it’s THAT Bill Cosby you speak of- you can have him.

  2. Mary says:

    I’ll take a man like Mr. Cosby( warts and all) over Charlie Sheen anyday. I haven’t met a perfect person in my 49 years, and I’m thinking I never will. GO RED SOX(please…………….)

    • See, Mary, you are a Red Sox fan. That explains why you haven’t been able to find a perfect man…..That, and the fact one doesn’t exist.

      • Mary says:

        I meant Mr. Cosby over Charlie , was a no brainer. I found my perfect man 27 years ago. Now I just need the Red Sox to start winning.

    • Li'l Em-Kel says:

      Not for nuthin’, Mary, but your Red Sox and my Rays both still have a shot at a perfect season. Sorta.

  3. Bill In Billings says:

    Nicely Done. Thank You!

  4. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Cos has his shortcomings, like most of us, but he’s done a lot more good than harm. Still, as God is my witness, I though Barack Obama was the most successful African-American in the history of show business.

  5. Steve L says:

    Yup! Li’l Em-Kel is right. The anointed one is up for an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor in a Situation Comedy.

  6. Great post, Gerry!
    Yes, Bill Cosby has sent some really good messages over the years- some which people loved hearing (not only his TV show- which had many positive messages, but did you ever see his stand up act? It’s so funny you will be in pain from laughing so hard. It’s even funnier than the “Book of Mormon” now on Broadway- and that says a lot) and some messages not everyone wanted to hear- but needed to be said.
    I applaud his courage and leadership- and hope more people listen to him.
    And like Seinfeld, he always kept his humor clean.
    That is too rare these days.

    • Beckie says:

      I’ve seen his standup several times. It’s refreshing to hear someone who’s funny that I can take kids to. Some of his bits I’ve heard many, many times, and ya know what? They’re STILL funny! Like The Dentist.
      Now that we have a 2 1/2 yr. old, we’re getting MILES out of his entire Fatherhood routine, especially the “all kids have brain damage” line (Parent: Why did you do that???? Child: I dunno. Cos: That’s brain damage.), chocolate cake for breakfast and the “come here. come here. COME HERE!” when trying to get her to do something. His comedy has probably saved us many parental tantrums. His bits pop in our brain and we end up laughing instead of yelling. And for that, I thank Mr. Cosby.

  7. Kevin says:

    judging from that pic and last nights game, I’m willing to bet the Cos could give the Sox more innings than Dice-K.

  8. Bruce B says:

    Gerry,

    Amen for guys like Bill Cosby.

  9. Beckie says:

    I have a feeling that Mr. Cosby feels he’s not doing anything special. Today, that’s rare.
    I’m sure Mr. Cosby isn’t perfect. He’s human. I have my doubts about Charlie Sheen. Then again, Charlie claims to be a warlock.

Leave a Reply

