Not That There’s Anything Wrong With That

I’m quite sure that sometime last year I devoted 15 seconds of my life to reading a story on the air that the U.S. Postal Service was coming out with stamps featuring comic book characters.

This morning, I put a piece of mail in the box that had one of those stamps.  Archie.  Squeezed between Veronica and Betty.  (Still the luckiest pen-and-ink SOB ever.)  ((Note to Courant friends: it was our subscription renewal.  Why does it go to Phoenix?))  (((Aren’t these parenthetical sidebars annoying?)))

And I thought, “That’s cool.”  Sure, it would be nice to honor an actual human being, but it got a smile out of me first thing in the morning, which isn’t easy to do.  So how bad could it be? 

Speaking of “coming out,” last week I devoted another 15 seconds of my life reading a story that Archie Comics announced it’s releasing a mini-series this summer with its first openly gay character, Kevin Keller.      

That’s cool, too. 

Wait, openly gay?  Hmmm.  Reggie?  Jughead?

You know, Archie will be 70 in December.  And he never did marry Veronica or Betty…

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Not That There’s Anything Wrong With That

  1. Beckie says:

    Ah, but these stamps DO honor a person….the person who created Archie and his pals!

    About wondering about Archie and Veronica after all these years….I’ve always called Minnie Mouse “the tramp” because she never married Mickey. Now I’m thinking that maybe Veronica and Minnie are just modern women who don’t “need” to be married to have a fulfilled life. (I’ve put way too much thought into this. hehe)

  2. Bruce B says:

    Gerry,
    Thanks for the Postal Service Props ( I guess ). We could use all the help we can get. Even if it is just a smile from a customer.
    Bruce

  3. This spoken (written?) by a BIG Archie fan back in the day: Who reads Archie comics anymore? Boomers, like myself? Um, none that I’ve seen lately. Tweens? What I just said: Um, none that I’ve seen lately. You got me curious about this, Gerry. I’m still not clear on the demographics, but I Googled and found ArchieComics.com. Shocker! You can follow ’em on Twitter! You can buy Archie merch! There’s an Archie blog! I feel like Jughead. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

Leave a Reply

