Tough Twitter Crowd

UConn’s win over Butler wasn’t pretty, but to paraphrase Chevy Chase, Jim Calhoun can look at his haters today and say, “I’m three-time national champion Jim Calhoun and you’re not.”

Just for fun, here is a sampling of Twitter comments from one a.m., working back to halftime.  These are people I follow on Twitter, or were retweeted by people I follow.  If you don’t understand the previous sentence, ignore it.  It really doesn’t matter.

Hartford Courant Students at UConn are celebrating the team’s win by setting fire to couches and turning over a car.

Lauren Petty Craziness in Storrs after UConn wins! Making me realize I’m not in college anymore.

Capitol Watch No shared sacrifice for winners! RT @heathwfahle: Calhoun is worth every penny we pay him.

Pete Abraham Charles Barkley, Final Four TV analyst, just admitted he had never been to the Final Four before. That’s just great.

Paul Doyle Tribute to title game, victory parade in Hartford will be slow & plodding with no flow.

Karin Crompton Jim Nantz, Kemba mighta told you he was going pro if you didn’t keep interrupting him.

Pete Abraham Jim Nantz is a series of pre-progammed cliches. Adds nothing memorable to the telecast.

Paul Doyle Worst part of night: A. Butler offense, B. Nantz’s dog puns or C. Those awful caps UConn kids forced to wear.

Greenwich Time Huskies national champs all of five minutes and Blumenthal’s press shop fires off the congratulatory e-mail to UConn.

Seth Meyers Excellent play-in game. Best of luck to UConn in the tourney! Good night, everyone!!!

Kevin Negandhi its a shame that a great tournament like this had a final game look like this.

Seth Meyers If your blood alcohol was Butler’s shooting percentage you could legally drive.

Jay Bilas Last time a team was held under 50 points in a title game? 1949. Harry Truman was President, and Jim Calhoun was 6 years old.

Where We Live Better basketball than this at every local Y this weekend.

Steve Rushin “Dogfight” between Bulldogs & Huskies is worst game I’ve ever seen. I shih-tzu not.

Julie Stagis I think I could maybe have scored 28 points if I was thrown into the NCAA championship game.

Chad Finn Maya Moore had more points in the second half last night (21) than the UConn men have in the first half. C’mon, that has to mean something!

Seth Meyers In step with tonight’s theme of high school basketball they just did a 50/50 drawing.

For the record, Lauren Petty is a colleague at NBC Connecticut,  Capitol Watch is a Hartford Courant blog, Pete Abraham used to cover UConn and is now Globe Red Sox reporter, Paul Doyle is a sports reporter for the Courant, Karin Crompton reports for the Day of New London, Seth Meyers is head writer of Saturday Night Live, Kevin Neghandi is an ESPN Sportscenter anchor, Jay Bilas is a college hoops guru for ESPN and CBS, Where We Live is the morning program on WNPR, Steve Rushin is a former Sports Illustrated columnist who’s married to Rebecca Lobo, Julie Stagis reports for the Courant, and Chad Finn writes for the Globe’s website. 

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, News, People, Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tough Twitter Crowd

  1. Mary says:

    Interesting comments……. spin it anyway you want, UCONN WON !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Kevin says:

    as my Pops use to say “no comments from the peanut gallery please”.
    It wasn’t a pretty win last night, but neither was NCAAs choice of venue or CBS’s production. Overall it’s was a amazing tourney, from UConn’s amazing run starting with the Big East tourney, the young coaches, the old coach, past enemies, great future players,big school upsets, small school Cinderella teams, etc.
    Congrats to the Connecticut Mens Team and to Jimmy on his well earned 3rd title.

  3. Terry says:

    Since living out here in AZ we have noted that the local Sports Writer for AZ Republic, Dan Bickley doesn’t usually give kudos to other state schools and their coaches- but for once he did a nice article on Jim Calhoun – thought you would enjoy…..

    Connecticut’s Jim Calhoun is a complicated coaching genius
    HOUSTON — Jim Calhoun is a complex man. So is his legacy
    .
    His accent is pure South Boston and thicker than clam chowder. He can be charming and compelling. When agitated, he’s a classic bully. His wife said he possesses a certain look, a steely gaze that indicates “where you stand with me.”

    Oh, and then there’s the chip on his shoulder.
    “I don’t know what chip you’re talking about,” Calhoun countered, proving the point he was trying to dispel. “Only because when I read about myself, I don’t know who you’re talking about.”
    OK, maybe this portrait is best painted by the numbers:
    0: The amount of public remorse he’s displayed for major recruiting violations that occurred during the wooing of Nate Miles, who now claims Calhoun knew of cash payments and other illegal benefits.
    When a reporter asked about his lack of public contrition during Sunday’s news conference, well, the aforementioned Calhoun look quickly emerged.
    “I’ve said my own personal and private thoughts would be kept personal and private,” he said.
    2: The number of championship rings he’s already accrued. It’s also the number of nuns accompanying Calhoun in Texas to keep him “holy.”
    “The only thing I ask them to do is please don’t look at me on the sidelines,” Calhoun joked. “I’m not really saying (those bad words). It’s somebody else who made me say that.”
    3: The number of games Calhoun will miss due to suspension in 2011-12, if he doesn’t retire first. It’s also the number of times he’s beaten cancer.
    4: The number of men who have won three or more NCAA basketball championships, an elite club that includes John Wooden, Adolph Rupp, Mike Krzyzewski and Bob Knight.
    5: The number of ribs he reportedly broke during a 50-mile bike ride for charity. At age 67, he gutted out the final 16 miles and then headed to the hospital.
    9: The number of victories Connecticut has posted in the past 19 days, a remarkable display of physical and mental toughness.
    10: Where Connecticut was picked to finish in the Big East this past season. It’s also the number of consecutive postseason wins by the Huskies entering the championship game against Butler.
    12: The number of marathons Calhoun has finished.
    15: Calhoun’s age when he came home from a baseball game and learned his father had died.
    “I told my mother, ‘I’ll take care of you,’ ” Calhoun said. “I don’t know what, ‘I’ll take care of you’ means, but I’ve been on that journey to take care of all my families, including my basketball family.”
    28: Calhoun’s age when he became a Division I coach, actually taking a pay cut to leave his high school coaching job for the vacancy at Northeastern University.
    “I had all the answers,” he said. “Now I’m 68 and have a lot of questions.”
    39: The years he’s spent coaching Division I basketball.
    41: The number of games Connecticut will have played after Monday’s finale, or half an NBA season.
    50: The age at which Calhoun promised his wife that he’d retire from basketball.
    “I lied,” he said.
    100: In pounds, the weight of the headstones Calhoun carved and carried around when he was trying to provide for his fatherless-family. He also pumped gas at 6 a.m., and took a job making ribbon candy.
    854: The number of wins Calhoun has compiled, a miraculous figure considering what he inherited in Storrs.
    “I love basketball,” Calhoun said. “I love UConn. I love my life. I love my family. I love my God. . . . One thing I’ll guarantee you, I know who I am. I know what I’ve done in 39 years of coaching. You don’t have to tell me. You don’t have to write it, but I know who I am. Quite frankly, I’m pretty comfortable with who I am.
    “Have I made mistakes? Yes. Do I have warts? Yeah, I do, like all of you. But I know who I am, and I’m comfortable with what I’ve done.”
    2012: The year Calhoun would like to see a mid-major finally win the NCAA Tournament, and not a moment sooner.
    Sunday, April 3, 2011 at 09:54 PM

Leave a Reply

