The Latest Sign of the Apocalypse

This is what it’s come to. 

In all her glory.

Rutgers paid Snooki of “Jersey Shore” fame $32,000 to speak to students last week.

Her advice: “Study hard, but party harder.”

By comparison, Rutgers’ commencement speaker in May will be author Toni Morrison, winner of Pulitzer and Nobel prizes.

She’ll be paid $30,000.

There’s a punchline here, but my boss is very fond of both Rutgers and New Jersey, so I’ll refrain.  But that shouldn’t stop you.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, News, Noticed, People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Latest Sign of the Apocalypse

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Make a note to google Snooki in about three years. That’ll be the only way to find her.

  2. Mike Schmitt says:

    Didn’t Snooki graduate from Whatsamatta U?

  3. Snooki doesn’t even deserve the right or privilege to have her name in the same sentence with Toni Morrison!! And never thought in my entire life that I would read anything that included both Snooki and Toni Morrison in the same vein of discussion, but props to Rutgers for making it.

  4. hendu says:

    I could have given that same advice and my appearance fee would have been a lot less. Of course she is like the #4 most famous Garden Stater behind Bruce, Bon Jovi, and Tony Soprano.

  5. Mary says:

    WOW………

  6. Jim says:

    IF my daughters had shown any intentions to emulate Snooki ,I probably wouldn’t have the chance to act because my parents and inlaws would have had an intervention to include an exorcisim and a labotomy .

  7. How soon they forget from a slightly different angle. How many years ago was it that Don Imus got canned for referring to the Rutgers womens basketball team as ” Nappy headed ho’s? ” Now Rutgers is paying someone who plays the role of a character named ” Snookie ” $32,000 to recommend that the college’s students ” party harder.”

    Then they agree to pay Toni Morrison less. If I were working in marketing or PR at Rutgers, I wouldn’t be happy.

  8. Ben Umnus says:

    I was disappointed to see her apart of Wrestlemania this year, I honestly don’t get it….

Leave a Reply

