Adjö, Lisbeth

I have just concluded spending an inordinate amount of time with one Lisbeth Salander, the anti-hero of Stieg Larsson’s “Milennium” trilogy.

Larsson is the unfortunate soul who wrote “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo,” “The Girl Who Played with Fire,” and “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest.”  Unfortunate, because he dropped dead before the millions started rolling in.

I read all three books last year, and just finished watching the Swedish film versions of each.  And I’m pleased to report that my time spent with Lisbeth was quite satisfying.  A very talented actress named Noomi Rapace played Lisbeth.  Not being a devotee of Swedish film, I had never heard of her before, but I suspect I will again.

Neumy

The only other Noomi I ever knew was “Neumy.”  Bob Neumeier, once the voice of the New England Whalers, now with Comcast sports in Boston.

Given my choice of Noomi/Neumy, I think the choice is clear.

Noomi as Lisbeth; Noomi as Noomi

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Adjö, Lisbeth

  1. You are a master of segue. Transitioning from Swedish literature and film so easily to the former announcer of a Hartford hockey team.

    My sources tell me Ingmar Bergman, at one point in the 80s, was working on a film of Neumeier’s life. working title: The Seventh Goal. I hear Max Von Sydow was to play Mr. Neumeier. Perhaps this is why you leapt so gracefully from one topic to the other.

  2. Linda says:

    Larsson’s books are still so popular at our library, we’ve had to replace them because they’ve worn out! There is still a waiting list of people wanting to read them. And, I agree with Mr. McCarthy – great segue!

  3. Joan says:

    I’m just reading the first of this trilogy and totally enjoying the read. Lisbeth is quite a character! The photo of that character in the Swedish films is pretty much what I was picturing in my mind. I guess that means that Stieg Larssen did a good job.

  4. GET help? I WAS the help ( See You Had To Be There – From Web Town To Psych Ward, by yours truly. And, uh, the psych ward was where I WORKED. I know. It’s a scary thought.

    And speaking of scary thoughts, let’s go to weatherman…

  5. Thank you. I need all the help I can get. Wishing I were a dead Swedish scribbler isn’t a good thing. Not that I’m about to change my name to Bjorn and leap off the Travelers Tower.

    In so many ways, I’m better off than Steig is.

Leave a Reply

