At the Intersection of Art and Commerce

I distinctly remember the first time I dropped a great big old F-BOMB (all caps, because it was a big one) on my mother.

And I distinctly remember the speed and force with which she dragged me to the bathroom and shoved a bar of Ivory soap into my mouth.

And I will never, ever forget the taste of that bar of soap.

Which brings us to the recent darling of the Academy Awards, “The King’s Speech.”  It’s going to be re-released April 1st, no fooling, without all the f-bombs.

How can you justify editing a film deemed the year’s best?  It will be marketed as a family film, of particular benefit to young people who have a stutter or stammer. 

Very altruistic of The Weinstein Company.  And if the sanitized version rakes in millions more, no doubt The Weinstein Company would think that’s effin’ great.

What will viewers of the edited version be missing?  Here it is, for the record, if not for delicate ears.

Oh, and that taste of Ivory?  Well, I still uncork a mean f-bomb from time to time.  But never in front of Ma.

OK, almost never.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to At the Intersection of Art and Commerce

  1. Lou Lange says:

    This brings to mind the publisher that wanted to sanitize Mark Twain’s “Huckleberry Finn”.
    WHY???
    The only thing I can think is the almighty dollar…
    -shakes his head in disbelief-

  2. #2 says:

    Ah the good old days…I actually used to eat Ivory soap on my own once a week and developed a taste for it….so when I dropped the F-Bomb…..it wasn’t that bad !

  3. Kathy L says:

    You were lucky to have been punished with Ivory. My Mom used to use Fels-Naptha, a brown laundry bar soap, on my brother. A lot. ultimately, it proved to be ineffective, and she lamented all the energy she’d wasted!!! Later in life, probably in her 70’s, I was driving her somewhere (in Massachusetts) and someone cut me off, or something similarly dopey, causing me to mutter, and probably use some choice words. “Do you want me to flip him the bird?” she said to me…. I don’t know if she did, because we were laughing hysterically by then…

  4. My mom came at me with the Ivory soap but wimped out when I screamed, “You don’t love me!” Mwaahaaahaaahaaa!

    I am not my mother. I started out okay, but started swearing like a sailor when my boys entered the teen years and they wore me down. Hmmm. I think that’s why they always went to their friends’ houses instead of having the guys over here. And was there a problem with that? Um, nope!

    Haven’t seen the movie yet, but looking forward to it and all it’s profanity.

Leave a Reply

