Mexico

“You’re going to Mexico?  Really?  Aren’t you afraid?”

No.  No we’re not.  As a matter of fact, we’ve “cheated death” four times in 15 months now.

Poor Mexico. 

Compared to the catastrophe in Japan, the chaos in Libya, the uprising in Egypt, and the suspicious quiet coming from Canada (seriously, what’s going on up there?), Mexico is a relative oasis.

Yes, I know all about the drug wars.  But unless you go looking for trouble, you’re not going to find any.

If you’re planning a spring vacation, there are wonderful deals to be had south of the border.

The view from "our place."

The weather is warm, and so are the people.  And oh, by the way, Canada’s quiet because so many Canadians are on vacation.  In Mexico.

Go.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Mexico

  1. Wendy says:

    Adios, amigo! Have a wonderful time!

  2. Linda says:

    Simply beautiful.

  3. Mary says:

    Very true, if you don’t seek trouble, trouble won’t find you, a good motto for everyday living. Looks so peaceful.

  4. Just returned from a fabulous vacation in Nuevo Vallarta. I don’t use ‘fabulous’ much, so I really mean it. The Mexican people were the friendliest and, as you said, warmest I’ve ever met. The beach was beautiful and the food was fantastic. As were the Coronas. Cheers!

    • Gerry says:

      No kidding! We were at Villa L’Estancia. I played golf at Flamingo and El Tigre. Where were you?

      • I came so close to having that beer with you – in Mexico, no less! We were in Nuevo Vallarta. My friend belongs to the vacation club at Paradise Village – home of El Tigre! The course looked beautiful as we passed by. Did you know the story behind the name? They raise Bengal tigers. Check out this link with one of them riding around in a golf cart! I’ve been meaning to do a post about it … just need to find the time.

      • Gerry says:

        Good Lord, I played El Tigre 2 weeks ago today. I love that course!

  5. Oh, and, yes, many, many Canadians were vacationing there – met more than I’ve met in my lifetime, eh.

  6. Ya learn something new everyday! I love those Bengals. Just missed you – we were there for a week, left 3/3. I wish I were still there! But we’re going back next year. Hopefully you can hit the links around here. Spring in New England has got to be a nice time for golf (as long as the grounds aren’t too wet!).

Leave a Reply

