Appropos of Nothing

Before we call this meeting to order, let me say upfront this isn’t the most appetizing post.  Feel free to click away.

OK then, here we go.

I trimmed my fingernails and ate asparagus today.  Not at the same time.  But the near convergence of these mundane events finally jogged an old mental note to answer questions that maybe you’ve asked yourself.  And maybe not.

Why do I seem to trim my fingernails so much more often than my toenails?  Is it just me?  The answer is no, it’s not just me.  Fingernails do grow more quickly than toenails.  Here’s why.

And (really, you can leave now) why does…ummm…you know…smell after eating asparagus?  Is it just me?  The answer is no, it’s not just me.  Ummm…you know…does smell after eating asparagus.  Here’s why.

And now you know.  How about that?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Appropos of Nothing

  1. Li'l Em-Smell says:

    I have it on good authority that drinking cranberry juice can neutralize the somehow always surprising result of eating asparagus. I’ve never tried it because I never think of it until . . . well, you know.

    Also, I’ve noticed that nails, both finger and toe, both grow at an accelerated rate when they are exposed to water. I theorize that most of us wet our hands much more frequently than we wet our toes and so fingernails grow faster.

    I submit my findings to the Panel of Experts.

  2. Pat says:

    I wonder who the first human was that tried asparagus? They must have been very very hungry. I personally find it one of the foulest foods out there. DO_NOT_LIKE. There isn’t much I don’t like and I have the waistline to prove it, but asparagus, Brussels sprouts, and lima beans top the short list. Blue cheese salad dressing is more effective at inducing vomiting than syrup of ipecac for me. Very embarrassing in a restaurant. Don’t ask. I should try it as an appetite suppressant. (Hmmmm, call a patent lawyer maybe?)

    Almost everything else is a go.

  3. Gerry's Mentor says:

    I am pretty sure that these same questions were asked by Howard Hughes.

  4. richb06092 says:

    Try a meal of asparagus with baked beans (preferably B&M). An olfactory epicurian delight.

  5. Steve L says:

    WOW! Fingernails & Asparagus. Any plans of donating your brain to science for research?

  6. Wendy says:

    Will keep a can of room deoderizer near while reading your blog from now on. Very descriptive responses have induced an olfactory response in my nose. It’s already an enlightening morning. Thank you everyone! And yes, Gerry ~ been there/done that!

  7. Mary says:

    In some people ? haven’t met anyone who isn’t effected, I guess we are a special bunch. The cranberry juice makes sense, can we add a mixer or would that defeat the purpose ?

  8. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    The news you’ve been waiting for!

    asparagusfest.com/

    (Be advised: random urine tests will be conducted at the gate.)

    (The EXIT gate.)

  9. Wendy says:

    Is asparagusfest.com/ right next to beanfest.com so we can experience “An olfactory epicurian delight.” such as Rich described above?

  10. My, you know, smells funny after I cut my toenails. What’s the deal with that?

  11. Graham says:

    I’m just impressed that you can still reach your toenails to trim them.

  12. Gerry says:

    Thank you all for the comments this post so richly deserves.

  13. Lorraine says:

    Apparently everybody DOES produce the same smelly results after eating asparagus, but not everyone can smell it. A friend of mine confirmed that not long after we had discussed it. She was, oh I don’t know……putting on lipstick, while her husband was using the toilet and said “you know, not everyone can smell that.” He replied, “smell what?”

  14. Terry says:

    thank you.. I needed to laugh out loud today. It was greatly appreciated (I think)

  15. Here’s what one of my favorite resource sites says about the asparagus and the…you know…situation…

    http://www.straightdope.com/columns/read/577/why-does-asparagus-make-your-pee-smell-funny

Leave a Reply

