A Simple, Satisfying Task

I just swept January out of my garage.  And it felt so good.

Dirt, accumulated over miles of driving and through more than four feet of snow, swept up into neat piles and deposited in the trash can.  Leaves, blown in from oaks reluctant to give them up, gone for good.

We can walk on the floor without hearing that gritty crunch.  For a while, anyway.  Winter’s not over.

But for a couple of days, it is.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Weather and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Simple, Satisfying Task

  1. Mary says:

    Pretending it’s spring sounds WONDERFUL…………………… Can’t tell you how many times my husband has vacuumed the garage this winter, he gets the eye roll from the ladies of the house, vacuuming the garage ? Just had a thought maybe he’s trying to get away from us………… We can’t wait for the real spring, he putters for hours in the yard.

  2. Melissa says:

    I love this! It’s almost 60 here and in 6 days we will be in the warmer weather for good! Moving to Georgia isn’t easy but looking forward to the trip.

  3. Gene says:

    I am impressed, Sir. Wanna come over and do mine?

  4. Graham says:

    Great idea! I’m going home in about 10 minutes and do the same thing.
    Way to go Gerry!!

  5. Gene H says:

    Scheee…!!! Thanks guys. Now I gotta go out and sweap the garage… Sigh.

  6. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    You could avoid a lot of stress if you handled chores like this on a routine basis. For instance, I sweep out my garage (need it or not) in every year that ends with a zero.

    Works like a charm.

  7. Margaret says:

    It’s the little things like sweeping away the winter grit that help to keep you sane. Any way to get out and enjoy this warm break. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

