A Legacy of Laughter

Do the names Len Lesser and Kenneth Mars ring a bell? 

They were guys who made us laugh.  Not big stars, just good actors who made us laugh.

Len Lesser was “Uncle Leo” on Seinfeld.

And Kenneth Mars was one of the geniuses Mel Brooks used in the original version of The Producers. 

Kenneth Mars and Len Lesser both left us in the last few days.

You hate to lose guys who make you laugh.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Noticed, People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Legacy of Laughter

  1. Beckie says:

    I didn’t know Len Lesser’s name until yesterday when TMZ had a story about Uncle Leo passing away. I knew who Uncle Leo was. And I remember him as Garvin on Everybody Loves Raymond. (One of my all-time favorite shows, as it depicts my life and I can laugh at myself.)
    They will have them rolling in the aisles on the Other Side. May they rest in peace.

  2. Cat says:

    ~Gerry, helloooooooooooooooo~
    I always found it interesting how some of these actors went from one show to another, kept everyone working, was nice.. ; )

  3. I never knew Lesser’s real name either until hearing about his death yesterday, shame on me. I should have made the effort, especially after his hilarious performance in the Seinfeld episode about The Bookstore. It’s been what, almost 20 years and I still can’t walk into a big box bookstore without giggling uncontrollably. Thanks for the laughs Uncle Leo!

  4. Ed from CT says:

    Good of you to note the passing of these two talented comedic actors. I also recall Kenneth Mars very well in “Young Frankenstein.”

  5. Mary says:

    Just seeing Uncle Leo’s face brought a smile to my face, A life well lived.

  6. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Charlie Callas left us a little while ago, too. These are all guys who are not only funny, but they make the top bananas look funnier as well. Bless them all.

  7. magsx2 says:

    Hi Gerry,
    I also enjoyed watching Uncle Leo, and it was sad to hear he is not longer with us.

  8. Gerry says:

    What a great bunch of comments. Thank you all.

Leave a Reply

