Dumber Than Dirt

We have been preoccupied for several weeks now with the weather and its attendant problems.

So every now and then I’ll get home from work, pour a glass of wine, and peruse some of the stories the details of which may have escaped my attention.

Such as the story of Rep. Chris Lee (R-NY). 

From Gawker.com

I had never heard of this guy before Wednesday night, and neither did most of America.  I knew just looking at the monitors that ring our newsroom that he sent a shirtless picture of himself to a woman, and had resigned his office.

So upon further review I learned about, and was completely and utterly amazed by two things:  his incredible stupidity, and the speed with which events unfolded.  This man’s career, and possibly his family life, came crashing down in three-and-a-half hours.

The internet opens doors for us that we couldn’t have possibly imagined just a few years ago.  And it also slams doors shut in our faces when we use it, shall we say, injudiciously. 

After all, Lee apparently knew better.  He did once note that he proudly helped pass a bill that pointed out “…the dangers and unknowns associated with a medium that is growing by several billion web pages per day.”  The internet.

I guess sometimes you just have to learn by doing.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, News, People, Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dumber Than Dirt

  1. Mary says:

    As soon as I saw your title I knew what was coming before I opened the blog. It still amazes me just how DUMB people still are. It took him 46 years to build a pretty good life and 46 seconds to destroy it. I just have to shake my head.

  2. Kevin says:

    if that photo was scratch and sniff ,it would smell of aqua velva.

  3. magsx2 says:

    Hi Gerry,
    A very stupid thing to do indeed. We seem to be reading incidents like this more and more, and as you have pointed out they know what can happen, just makes you wonder what on earth goes through their minds when they do this, obviously they don’t think about it at all.

  4. Gene says:

    Seem to recall some guy at the Pentagon a few years ago emailing underage girls and showing his ID badge. I guess that was supposed to impress them. Reminds me of one of my favorite sayings: Unencumbered by the thought process.”

  5. richb06092 says:

    Obviously he was letting his “little Chris” do the thinking for him.

  6. Gerry says:

    Love each and every one of your comments. Thanks.

  7. #2 says:

    Wasn’t aware that Jack Daniels was making wine.

  8. A very productive 3 1/2 hours for all of us that have sensibility. That picture will haunt him until he takes his last breath. Why did he put it out there for all to see? Wait, I can’t hear you. It’s too noisy because he’s kicking himself SO hard. May he continue to do so.

    Take care, Ger.

Leave a Reply

