It Ain’t Easy

“Bomb Kazakhstan!  Or one of the other ‘stans.  Or just get me some guy named Stan to punch out!”

I hate the thought of the President of the United States having nicotine withdrawal.  An edgy commander-in-chief makes me nervous.

But Michelle Obama went public Tuesday with the news that her husband has quit smoking.  She says he says he hasn’t smoked in a year.  Good for him.  I hope that’s true.  What gives me pause is that he’s said in the past “I constantly struggle with it,” but “am I a daily smoker?  No.”

I’ve never met someone who constantly struggles with smoking, but can go a day without one.  Heaven knows I couldn’t.  It was all or nothing for me, until nothing finally won.

But we must give the benefit of the doubt, so now you can have the president over for dinner, and not have to ask him to step outside for his après-dinner puff.  And he needn’t worry about being a social pariah.

I don’t know about you, but I feel safer already.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Health, News, Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It Ain’t Easy

  1. Mary says:

    No one understands like you how hard it was to quit, and I might say the President has a bit more pressure on him. Passed a new billboard on my way home to Bolton, looking good Gerry 🙂

  2. Beckie says:

    I hope it’s true. Considering how admired he is by many, especially young people, showing the example of not smoking is much more preferable.
    I also hope that he goes public with how difficult quitting was and that he shouldn’t have started in the first place.

  3. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Not lighting up every day? You call that smoking?

    Sounds like the proverbial veteran kamikaze pilot: he was involved but not committed.

  4. T Bone says:

    He LIES !

  5. magsx2 says:

    Hi Gerry,
    I didn’t even know he smoked, didn’t see anything about it in the papers here in OZ. (I could of missed it) We do hear a fair bit about the President, of course not all of it good, but we do get a fair bit of information.

    • Gerry says:

      He really was a stealth smoker, Maggie. No one ever saw him with a cigarette in public. I suspect he fired a few up on the golf course. I know I used to.

  6. Kevin says:

    I’m happy for the Pres, glad he kicked the habit, I just hope he quit for his own sake and not due to the constant, annoying intrusive pestering by others.
    The White House press corp would not let this issue go, now that it’s been finally resolved I see they have moved on to asking the pressing question on whether or not he dyes his hair.

  7. Steve L says:

    We should all be worried about him stealing our liberties rather than him stealing a smoke!

Leave a Reply

