The Forgotten 400

Congrats to the Packers and their fans.  The game actually was super.

What I can live without under any and all circumstances are the celebrity cutaways during this or any other game.  John Travolta?  Cameron hand-feeding ARod? 

Everytime I saw a celebrity, I couldn’t help but think of the 400 real fans who were told their tickets were no good.  Apparently, not all of  the temporary seating areas in Jerry Jones’s palace were completed in time.  So while Jerry sat with George and Laura and Cameron and Alex, real football fans had to go to Plan B, and I don’t mean the burger joints.

The NFL gave these people triple the face value of their tickets ($2,400, which isn’t as much as it sounds) and issued a statement promising a “full review of this matter.”

I can hear it now.

NFL Wag #1: “Do you think Catherine Zeta-Jones and Hugh Jackman had a good time?”

NFL Wag #2: “They seemed to, but they kept asking why the ball wasn’t round.”

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Noticed, People, Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Forgotten 400

  1. Mary says:

    Must agree 100 %, too much social, what happened to the game being the main event. I enjoy the game in the comfort of my own home, no lines no waiting

  2. Linda says:

    I couldn’t believe it when I heard yesterday that 400 ticket holders wouldn’t be able to get in to watch the game. $2400 doesn’t make up for the time and effort it took to get to the game – especially if people had to travel through the terrible weather and it doesn’t make up missing out on the excitement and once in a lifetime experience. I didn’t watch the game, but I did see Christine Aguilera mess up the lyrics to the National Anthem. I absolutely love her voice, but I didn’t like her rendition at all.

  3. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Like many others, I am delighted to see Jerry Jones’s grandiose plans blow up in his face.

    As for the poor folks who only got triple-their-money-back, I can’t feel too bad. Anybody who is willing to pay $600 to see a football game – or anything else, really – won’t miss the money. Nor will he miss the few grand it cost to get to the game in the first place. Boo hoo.

  4. I don’t follow pro football all that closely, and I didn’t watch much of the game last night. But didn’t I read somewhere that NFL cheerleading squads ( No I will not stoop to calling them ” broad casts ” ) are becoming things of the past? If so, we can probably expect to see more of those celeb cutaway shots. It’s commonly done on televised tennis tournament broadcasts. They have to fill those dead air moments with something. Or someones.

  5. Cathy says:

    I think the NFL should provide a ticket package for next year’s game as a start to paying back those poor people who didn’t get to see the game like they expected.

Leave a Reply

