The View From Room 224

Greetings from the Courtyard Marriott in New Britain.  Or is it Farmington?  Wherever.

As I look out the window, it’s doing something.  Sleet?  Ice?  Or is it freezing rain?  Whatever.

All I know is winter is winning.  I didn’t have that laser-like focus to skate home last night, so I booked in.  Good move.

Just finished the in-room coffee and the muffin my wife tucked in my bag.  Contemplating next move.  I could walk around the mall.  Haven’t done that since, oh, 1983.

Something to ponder while I listen to TV drivel about the groundhog not seeing his shadow.

Screw the groundhog.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, Weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to The View From Room 224

  1. G.M.Duclos says:

    You got that right, I’m going to Jamaica in two weeks. I don’t care what that furry little rodent sees.

  2. Bill says:

    This has to be a joke about the Groundhog predicting an early spring. Second opinion is needed here. Send Bob Maxon outside to look for his shadow. 🙂

  3. RJM says:

    I think you should forget the walk around the mall & start drinking…

  4. heather says:

    “Screw the groundhog.”

    amen to that, sir.

  5. Kim says:

    I agree Gerry, screw the groundhog.

  6. Linda says:

    Is that car about to run over those suitcases?! Smart move, Gerry. Sure beats driving or sleeping on an exercise mat. I had a hellish drive home yesterday. My place has a delayed opening this morning, but I’m contemplating just staying home. Sure wish I was closer to a mall – I’d love to take a walk around one right now! Generally, I love winter and snow makes me happy, but this is starting to wear me down. But other places have it worse than us. We will get through this!

  7. Chip Gorra says:

    In the cold and snow at the mall, eh. You could fake tropical warmth and go to the Rain Forest Cafe…LOL

  8. Janice says:

    Ger, my husband and I walk the mall many winter weekends. It’s quite a social event and lots of places are usually open for coffee. Go take a stroll!

  9. hendu says:

    I say get out and enjoy the white splendor of the new fallen snow. Embrace what mother nature has given us.

  10. Kristie says:

    When we stayed there 2 weeks ago, we noticed there was a pool at the hotel.

  11. “Screw the groundhog.”
    Love it!
    Thumbs up, Gerry.

  12. Lisa C says:

    Westfarms i s Open Gerry. I was there already this morning! You’ll get a great parking spot.

  13. Bob says:

    Hi Gerry…

    Our office in Simsbury is closed today…a good day to get some work done…so I drove over the mountain… got here an hour ago…

    then…

    I filled the bird feeder outside my window for my bright red Cardinal friend… checked the fridge for leftovers (nothing really good but someone named “Marla” has soup which needs some salt… which she will never know)……made a few calls and answered some Emails so people know I am “robustly engaged with our corporate goals”…

    …now I may take a little nap…I still have all afternoon.

    Have a safe day.

    Bob

  14. Paul says:

    So if your producer hands you copy for the groundhog day story tonight we can expect a Howard Beale moment?

  15. Melissa says:

    So glad this is our last winter here moving to Savannah in a few weeks.
    And really why do we let a flea infested furball dictate to us when Spring is coming anyway? That was the question my 6 year old asked this morning.

    • Gerry says:

      You have a very smart 6 year old. I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about Savannah. I hope your move goes well, and that you’ll keep in touch.

  16. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Rx for survival:

    Repeat “I LOVE the change of seasons. . . I LOVE the change of seasons. . . I LOVE the change of seasons. . .”

    Twice a day. Ten reps. Three sets.

    By the time April rolls around you’ll be yourself again!

  17. Terry says:

    From someone who was born/raised in CT and the family still lives there – we moved to AZ a few years ago, but we watched the forecasts and we feel your pain.! Your recent posting did make me laugh. We know its wearing. Our weather today and this week will be, what they consider cold out here, in the 40’s. I reprimanded all who live here who are moaning and whining how cold it is!! I told them to deal with it, its only a few days and at least the sun is shining and we can all get out and not have to shovel or scrape. Geez
    I know it won’t make you feel better – but I thought I would try.

  18. Terry says:

    Gerry – maybe this will help (or not) all due to the “cold” regarding the WM Phoenix Open in Scottsdale being played this week…Posted from the AZ Republic today

    WM Phoenix Open: Wednesday’s events canceled, Thursday’s first round could be affected.

Leave a Reply

