Paging Dr. Auschlander

Imagine having a career that touches parts of nine decades.  A career that made you a contemporary and a partner of the likes of Orson Welles and Alfred Hitchcock. 

Meet Norman Lloyd.

On "Modern Family"

We were watching an episode of Modern Family over the weekend, when my wife said, “That’s the guy from St. Elsewhere.”

I looked closely.  “That’s Dr. Auschlander.  Norman Lloyd!  Wow, he’s still alive and still working.”

"St. Elsewhere" opening credits

Norman Lloyd is 96 years old. 

His remarkable career started on the stage in the ’30s.  He first appeared on television in 1939.  A movie called The Streets of New York.  It was filmed at the NBC studios at 30 Rock, which, as you may have heard,  got a new owner over the weekend.  Such sweeping changes over the years. 

But acting is acting, and Norman Lloyd’s career (which also includes producing and directing) has encompassed the entire history of the medium.

That is impressive.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Paging Dr. Auschlander

  1. “Modern Family”- you have good taste in your choice of TV sitcoms! Your choice in pro baseball teams could still use some work but at least this is a good sign.

  2. Lou Lange says:

    Wow – glad to hear he is still around!

  3. Cheryl Rice says:

    That’s great! And I couldn’t help but notice his 75 YEAR marriage on that bio page. Wow!

  4. Nancy says:

    I loved St.Elsewhere, it was a great show. So many actors that ended up in other big roles, and of course Howie Mandel. I even still love to hear the theme song.

    • Gerry says:

      My all-time favorite drama. I hope NBC’s new programmers will look to shows like St. Elsewhere for inspiration in bringing the Peacock back to prominence.
      Dave Grusin did the theme song. I have it on my iPod.

  5. G.M.Duclos says:

    Hmmm, I hope we’ll be saying the same about you Ger.

  6. Stacey says:

    I also loved St. Elsewhere, though I would get in trouble if I was watching it because it was on past my bedtime. David Morrison was my favorite!

Leave a Reply

