It’s Tectonic, Dude

“This is a tectonic shift in New England politics.”

So says Rep. Joe Courtney of Sen. Joe Lieberman’s decision to not run for a fifth term.  Joe Courtney is generally a plain-spoken man, so his use of the word tectonic threw me.  Because I didn’t know what it meant.  (Though it sounds huge, doesn’t it?)  So I went to dictionary.com.

1. of or pertaining to building or construction; constructive; architectural.

2. Geology . a. pertaining to the structure of the earth’s crust.

b. referring to the forces or conditions within the earth that cause movements of the crust.

c. designating the results of such movements: tectonic valleys.

I’m guessing “2-b” as the definition of tectonic as used by Rep. Courtney.

I felt the crust move.  Didn’t you?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Noticed, People, Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s Tectonic, Dude

  1. Whew- thanks for clarifying that, Gerry.
    For a moment, I thought he meant our politics were headed towards Germany’s!

    But then I remembered: that would be “a Teutonic shift.”

  2. Yes, yes, yes, Ed from Connecticut!! That line left me quaking with laughter. The Earth moved! I’m ready for your next one.

    Seriously. Great line.

  3. Gerry says:

    Lili von Shtupp.

  4. richb says:

    I suddenly have this craving for wienerschnitzel.

  5. Kevin says:

    I’ve experienced a similar shift after a large Dunkins coffee and a bran muffin

  6. Gene says:

    I used to work at Tectonic Industries and they made extruded plastic sheet stock…go figure.

Leave a Reply

