A Really Bad Website

We aired a story last week on the website spokeo.com.  It bills itself as “Not your grandma’s phonebook.”

That’s for sure.  Because it puts more than your phone number out there.  The site points out that it only uses information that is available to the general public.  That is, of course, assuming that the general  public is interested enough to learn your personal information.  In other words, nosy people.

Personally, I found the website to be despicable, but I didn’t know what to do about it.  Then, a Facebook friend posted this:

There’s a site called Spokeo.com w/personal information: everything from pics you’ve posted on FB or web, your approx credit score, home value, income, age, etc. You can remove yourself by searching for yourself on their site, copying the URL of your page, then go to the bottom of the page and click on Privacy button to remove yourself.

Another Facebook friend posted this:

Interesting Gerry that they advertise “Reputation Defender” on the opt-out page. I wonder if this whole thing is somehow some kind of reverse-marketing strategy to get people to be outraged that their info is so easily available and drive business there? Someone call Oliver Stone….

So there’s the rest of the story about this website.  I reluctantly put a link here if you’re interested in checking to see if you’re listed, and you’d like to remove yourself.  I encourage you to click on each tab, such as name, email, and phone.  You may also want to check for other family members.

As for the rest of you…

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Digital World and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Really Bad Website

  1. Wondering says:

    I went to the site, and found myself twice, once under my maiden name as living with my parents, and then under my marriage name as living with my ex-husband. I asked to be removed from both. In both cases had to use my email address, where they send a link that has to be clicked for verification. Now the question is— what do they do with the email address?

  2. Thanks, Gerry- you have done a public service by warning us about this.
    I just removed myself and found they actually also had me listed at my old company in Glastonbury- and I haven’t been there for almost 3 years!
    Thanks, again.

  3. I’d remove myself, but they require that you provide your email address. I don’t want to give them anymore information!

  4. clearlysue says:

    FYI all – my real estate partner tried to remove himself, and the site said “For security reasons, only a certain amount of people may withdrawal each day. Please try again tomorrow.” Furious, he kept trying, only to be denied. Although I had taken myself off the list, I hadn’t taken my husband off, so at 11 that night, I did… and was also able to cancel my partner… Short answer is to keep trying… btw, all the info they have is public record (land records show house value and taxes), but disturbing all is compiled. And how about whitepages.com? Get a number, and it will tell you who lives in the house (and how old they are), and ask if you’d like to know who else lives in the neighborhood… Oh, and would you like a map of how to find the house? No problem… It’s getting a little scary out there.

  5. Kevin says:

    Creepeo would be a more fitting name for that site.

  6. Kevin says:

    I just used this service to search for the Patriots offense, sadly nothing showed up

  7. magsx2 says:

    Hi Gerry,
    Yes I had a look, and for me it really was a good laugh. Apparently I don’t exist in Australia, I put in my e-mail that I use for blogs and the site asked for money for a proper search. (only in their dreams from me) so I put in Magsx2 to see what would happen and low and behold I have a twitter account and live in Arlington VA wherever that is, but I did learn something, there are 2 Magsx2, now that was a surprise.

    I think maybe I’m not there because I don’t have a Facebook account, I don’t have a twitter account, so it seems they only search the social sites for the name and e-mail, and seeing as how I don’t exist, you are reading this comment while dreaming. 🙂

  8. Bill says:

    Thanks, Gerry. I opted-out after I saw my personal info. However I was annoyed to see the ad for Reputation Defender on the the opt-out page because I had bought a year-long RD plan to avoid listings. Obviously Reputation Defender didn’t do it’s job on this one.

  9. Melissa says:

    Thanks Gerry,

    I just removed my self and my Husband.
    Also they had our kids posted up there. My guys are 3 and 5. They had listed what school my son goes to. Thanks again you have eased a worried momma’s mind.

  10. Sue D says:

    I posted replies to this twice last night (about difficulties in removing a name from Spokeo), and they never showed up – any idea why?

Leave a Reply

