Thank You, Dear

A couple of years ago, my wife surprised me with a new snowblower for my birthday.  My birthday is in August, so this gift didn’t have the impact it might have in, say, January.

I also had a snowblower.  Yes, it was 25 years old.  Yes, it kind of chugged and belched its way through the snow.  Yes, it stalled, and when it did the neighborhood children learned new and colorful words and expressions.  But it worked.

I protested.

She said, “You’ll thank me later.”

It’s later.

Thank you, dear.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, People, Weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Thank You, Dear

  1. Doug says:

    holy moly look at that thing – the control panel looks like it’s as big as my desk

  2. Shar says:

    When I was about 21, and my family had our own business in Ramsey, New Jersey, for the holidays, my folks gave my brother a waffle iron and I had gotten an electric shovel. It wasn’t a mistake! My dad knew I’d get up early and go to our store and shovel the sidewalk in front of the store. Of course this was after I plowed the driveway so my brother and I could go to work.

  3. Wendy says:

    I’d say the gift turned out to be a win/win situation. Of course, a whole batch of kids will now grow up with a less than colorful vocabulary. Am happy that everyone at NBC30 managed to stay safe during this storm. Many thanks for the continuing updates and pictures! Kudos to everyone!

  4. Cat says:

    That sure looks like a Tim Taylor/ Tool Time Special !
    The Mrs knows how to pick them,, “-)
    Safe ride home this evening for you and the rest.

  5. Bruce b says:

    Gerry, You are a big man.

  6. Shar says:

    When we had two businesses, I had to get up extra early,,, I had to shovel with a regular shovel since we didn’t sell electric shovels. Then I’d go ot the store I was running, and shovel there as well. I wish I had liked waffles back then.

  7. Steve L says:

    I just hope she bought that Ariens at a local servicing power equipment dealer and not at a Home Depot.

  8. Mary says:

    We’re always thinking of the men in out lives, and the fact they’re cheap labor. The Mrs is a smart women, then again she is married to you Gerry a win, win situation.

  9. Graham says:

    Nice machine!! I still use the Ariens my father bought 53 years ago from a dealer in Gerry’s old neck of the woods. (it was bought in Waltham Mass.) It’s now on it’s third engine, but still handled yesterday’s snow just fine. I did have some problems around the mailbox though. There, the piles were too tall to blow over. But just like the men of yesteryear, that machine was “built tough” and keeps on going.
    More snow Sat????????BRING IT ON!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

