Talking Dirty

While the nation cries for a more civil discourse, ABC may pick up a sitcom titled Don’t Trust the Bitch

Don’t Trust the Bitch.  (It just begged to be bold and italicized.)

If ABC picks up this show, maybe they can schedule it against $#*! My Dad Says on CBS.

That might get NBC or FOX to whip up a game show called “WTF?” 

And that’s where I’ll leave it.  Because that’s what I’m asking.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Noticed, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Talking Dirty

  1. Lou Lange says:

    It is ASTOUNDING, Gerry, what the networks feel they can use for titles. I guess Standards and Practices aren’t what they used to be…

  2. I’m no prude and I can sling the epithets with the best of them, I was an EMT in the north end of Hartford for pity’s sake, but there is just something so ugly about this trend. What does that say about us when I can’t even read the TV guide listings to my grandchildren without being uncomfortable?

  3. Gerry, we just had to deal with this situation. They needed us to babysit for an hour in the early evening. We had to go to the DVR for appropriate saved shows. As much as I personally enjoy watching Two and a Half Men at 7pm, there’s no way I’m getting into a discussion of those topics with an 11, 10 and 6 year old.

  4. Linda says:

    I remember when my daughters were young (15ish years ago), we used to watch The Ellen Show. It was a great, funny, entertaining show. Then, the following season it became all about Ellen’s male and female friend trying to find places to “hook up”. It became entirely inappropriate. The same thing happened with Third Rock from the Sun. One season it was fine, the next it was all about each character’s sexual exploits. All of a sudden, family time TV disappeared. To this day, I no longer watch sitcoms. Surely, a funny sitcom can be developed that is suitable for family viewing that doesn’t contain sex and violence. And we wonder why kids these days are having sex earlier and earlier and disputes are resolved with violence.

  5. Mary says:

    It shouldn’t be acceptable, What would Rob and Laura say .

  6. This doesn’t exactly raise my hopes that TV execs are going to work all that hard to help raise the level of discourse out there in the hinterlands.

  7. Steve L says:

    Daniel Patrick Moynihan coined the phrase “Defining Deviancy Down”. The TV networks are contributing to this with these shows and unfortunately they have a willing audience.

  8. You know the president of NOW (National Organization of Women) is going to call out ABC for airing DTTB, let alone scheduling it.

Leave a Reply

