Just Don’t Call Me Late for Dinner

Connecticut’s new governor campaigned as Dan Malloy, but has declared he prefers to be known by his given name, Dannel.  Dannel P. Malloy.

Conversely, Connecticut’s last Democratic governor, William A. O’Neill, declared he preferred to be known as Bill.  It’s all about image.

I’ve always been ambivalent about Gerry and Gerald.  I suppose I could have assumed a nom de air when I began my career, but I thought that would have been insulting to my parents, who bought the naming rights to me sometime before that.

So in honor of our new governor…

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People, Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just Don’t Call Me Late for Dinner

  1. Cat says:

    Nom de air,,
    I met one of those on FB, got real cozy too,
    Come to find out, “married with children” would have been a much better name.
    This person is now called “blocked”
    I admire you Gerry, you’ve shown respect not only for your folks, but yourself as well.
    My Mom & Dad gifted me with Catherine, then decided Cat was much easier, ha!
    Mr. Malloy shall be just that.
    Have fun with the shovel today. : )

  2. Kevin says:

    I hope for the best, but if he doesn’t get off to a good start, people sure will be calling him names and neither of them will be Dannel or Dan.

  3. Steve L says:

    Kevin is right. It didn’t take Dannel long. Mandatory sick leave for Ct businesses. I can hear the moving vans backing in now.

  4. Graham says:

    Speaking of names. I am a “junior” so to differentiate between my father and me, my parents called me Gray. But my teachers used my given name and as I grew up (no comment needed here Gerry) I’ve used Graham. Now the only people who know me as Gray are my cousins who still think I’m 5 yrs old.
    Hope I can keep that illusion alive for just a little while longer…………
    Just as long as my pay checks come through with the right name I really don’t care what I’m called. Oh well, it’s Monday so “what’s his name” better get to work.

Leave a Reply

