Guilty Pleasure

Because of my hours, I don’t get to watch much TV during the week.  And what I do see is whatever is on between midnight and 2am.

That’s how I discovered “House Hunters” on HGTV.

The basic premise: a couple looks at 3 houses, then picks one.  You get to guess which one.  But in the process, you also get to see how people live in other parts of the country (and even better, in the case of House Hunters International, in other parts of the world).

And now, we hear that House Hunters will shoot an episode in West Hartford.  Cool.

I’ve also seen some of HGTV’s do-it-yourself shows.  I like them, but I’m a tool with tools. 

When I worked summers for the family plumbing company, all I was qualified to do was carry the tool box and get out of the way.  But I did enjoy surveying the Greater Boston real estate.

Looking at houses, that I can do.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed, TV Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Guilty Pleasure

  1. Linda says:

    I, too, enjoy House Hunters, although I generally catch it on the weekends. I love seeing what houses go for in other parts of the country and the different styles. Sometimes I feel fortunate to have the house I have (outdated and needing a lot of work), and sometimes I dream I can own a house I see on the show. House Hunters International really makes me appreciate American ingenuity and our bathrooms! These shows are a great escape and you do learn a lot about our country and other countries.

  2. hendu says:

    Ha!!!! Three houses and you get to pick one?? I call bullcrap. No way can you look at just three houses and decide. I’ve seen the show and that aspect irritates me. that is not “reality tv.” See 60 then come talk to me.

  3. Cat says:

    I love that show.
    An agent who sold one of my homes here in Ct, was featured on one of the shows in Tennessee after she moved there.
    I especially enjoy the International shows.
    You see just how much more the US dollar can get you in some countries.
    The fixer-upper shows are fun too, but I find myself asking, how is it they get all the materials so much cheaper than we can, aren’t Home Depots & Lowes all alike? 😦
    Can’t wait to see the West Hartford episode, did they happen to mention when?

  4. Bob says:

    Househunters pulled me away from Pawn Stars
    …the episode in India was great
    …makes my hovel look spectacular

    … domestic help costs alot less over there.
    Just a cross we all have to bear…

    HNY

  5. Mary says:

    I’m a big fan of the show, I love looking through homes in every part of the country, my husband and I always do walk throughs of home under construction. We’re always looking for ideas for our forever home. Maybe you could do a Hotel Hunter, you do travel a bit.

  6. stratos Bonos says:

    i actually am additcted to hgtv. Is there a group I can join

Leave a Reply

