No Cause for Alarm

A worldwide crisis that we at NBC Connecticut and news organizations everywhere have reported on:  the wake-up alarms on iPhones stopped working when the calendar turned to 2011! 

iPhone owners from America to Asia are oversleeping!  God help us!

Unfortunately, God is busy today, but I happen to be available.

So just for you iPhone users who overslept today, I offer this utilitarian alternative from Walmart

For $9.88, it gets the job done.

You’re welcome.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to No Cause for Alarm

  1. Valerie Muckle says:

    wow… an ALARM clock?! why didn’t we think of this sooner?! thank you Mr. Brooks! 🙂

  2. G.M.Duclos says:

    LOL!!

  3. Wendy says:

    Hmm…I’m sure there some wonderfully clever line having to do with “ringing in the New Year”, but I can’t seem to put it together…oh well, another synapse collapse for me. I shall be chuckling all day over your response. Thanks!

  4. Mary says:

    The tried and true, nothing fancy, just dependable. My LL Bean travel alarm has never failed me either, no power source required.

  5. Beckie says:

    Got mine at Rite Aid for $2.88 on clearance, battery back-up and everything!

    I have used and continue to use the alarm on my cell (not an iPhone or smart phone.) It was great when my daughter was a baby and had to be fed every 3 hrs. Would wake me up, but not anyone else. Now that we’re starting potty training, I’ll use it to remind her to try. I have one of her favorite songs as a ring tone and will set it for her alarm.
    But would I rely on it to wake me up for work/school??? NO WAY! 🙂

  6. First time my iPhone has failed to wake me up was this morning. Overslept by half an hour. Mashable has put up a list of five free iPhone alarm apps that actually work:
    http://mashable.com/2011/01/02/5-free-iphone-alarms/

  7. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Oh yes the old alarm clock, the one I’m using now I have had for just over 5 years, it has never failed me. I bought it at a discount store all those years ago when the one I originally had died. I think it cost me something like $7 AUS or there abouts. It also has a battery back up in case of power failure, this also works well I found out.

  8. MiaouMa says:

    The best part of my day is waking up to the radio. I get two songs, then the news, weather and traffic then it’s into the shower I go. Anything else just doesn’t seem right.

    And as a funny aside, when I was six, I remember trying to see inside the radio at the little people that must be in there playing the music. And it had a dial that lit up and an honest to goodness clock with hands on the front of it. So I wasn’t all that smart back then but it’s still a fond memory.

  9. Bill says:

    Jerry – Got one with hands?

  10. Graham says:

    Or, we could all just go to bed earlier and wake up on our own. We’d be more rested and better to be with all day.
    Don’t worry Gerry, we’ll all tape the 11 pm news……………..just like we do now.

Leave a Reply

