Inch Moment 2010

“Uncle Gerry, come in the water with me.”

“Later.”

“How much later?”

“I dunno.  If I give you a dollar, will you be quiet for 5 minutes?” 

Twelve year old Zachary doesn’t like to be quiet.  My nephew is a talker.  Brookses generally are not, so he must have acquired this trait from the Malloy side of his family. 

“Ready now?”

“Not yet, I’m reading my book.”

His dad and I had played golf in the morning, then adjourned to the beach with his two sons on a spectacular August afternoon on Cape Cod.

“C’mon, let’s go!”

“Soon as I finish this beer.”

“That’s what you said two beers ago.”

“Soon.  Promise.”

Promises must be kept.  So into the water we went.  And I never saw it coming.  My Inch Moment of the year.  That moment so perfect, so peaceful, you never want it to end.

The two of us, side by side in the water.  Floating on our backs, not (mirabile dictu!) saying a word.  A perfect moment made even more perfect by the first thing Zachary said after a few minutes.

“This is nice, huh?”

“It really is, Zach.”

And it really was.  It was Inchworthy.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inch Moment 2010

  1. Mary says:

    You’ve got to savior those moments Gerry, they become few and far between when the kids get older. My most cherished memories with my girls, niece and sister-in law was our weekly trips to the beach over the summer and our ice cream stops on the way home. Life was simple……….. chocolate, vanilla, strawberry or all 3 🙂 Have a safe and fun filled new year.

  2. G.M.Duclos says:

    Happy New Year! May you have another inch moment in the coming year. They’re far and few.

Leave a Reply

