Horizontal in the Gym

Sometimes it’s good to break out of the norm.  I appropriated the gym at NBC Connecticut Sunday night for my bedroom.  Throw a sheet and comforter down on the exercise mat, add a pillow, and voila, it’s a bed!

No comments about dumbbells, please.

Hmm.  Do they make king-size exercise mats?  (Memo to self:  check before the next storm.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Horizontal in the Gym

  1. Maria says:

    It’s not like the olden days, Gerry. Oh to just walk to the Sonesta, stop at Zero’s before bed… Those were the days!

  2. pete says:

    snowed in, probably the only way you’d get me into a gym…

  3. Wendy says:

    Well, now I can check that off my list of things I need to know before I can sleep. My daughter and I were wondering if there were special quarters for any of you who ended up spending the night; we thought perhaps you were in a nice hotel. Gerry, you might want to consider one of those inflatable beds that take up no space at all until unpacked/inflated and offer an incredibly comfortable night’s rest. They come in queen size, I know for sure. Just a thought..:)

    • Gerry says:

      It all worked out pretty well, and we have a nice shower room just across the hall from the gym. Thanks heavens for the new building. If we were still in the old dump, I would have gone home or found a hotel room.

  4. Jeff says:

    Sometimes impromptu camping can be fun. They probably didn’t let you roast marshmallows on a fire though. Aww gee – 🙂

  5. Cat says:

    Put an “Aero Bed” on your wish list, Gerry…
    You can’t count that time spent in the gym as workout time… : )
    Glad you were safe, but I too figured you’d opt for a hotel.

  6. magsx2 says:

    Hi Gerry,
    Actually looks rather comfortable, good thinking using the mat as a bed. It could of easily been a lot worse.

  7. Linda says:

    When I tuned in Monday morning and saw you at the anchor desk, I laughed out loud and woke my husband up. It was very strange seeing you at 5:30 in the morning. But you looked well-rested and very comfortable at the desk. I thought for sure your new building would have some little room for sleeping – like doctors have at hospitals. An oversight, I’m sure. Perhaps the powers to be underestimated their staffs’ dedication. Target has a great selection of air mattresses and are reasonably priced when they are on sale. Perhaps a little hint to those powers to be is in order.

Leave a Reply

