And What Are You Thankful For?

One of my neighbors has a lot to be thankful for.  I don’t even know their name.

But driving by their display, you can’t help but smile and feel good that they’re going to have such a happy holiday.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to And What Are You Thankful For?

  1. Cat says:

    Gerry,
    I am thankful that I will have my folks with me for one last holiday.
    They are both very ill, dad with terminal cancer and mom is right behind him.
    I guess after 63 years together I’m not surprised.
    You know I will be making Thanksgiving & Christmas as special as can be this year.
    I do wish you & the Mrs a very Happy Thanksgiving…

  2. Wow- Cat’s is so heavy.
    I was just going to say I was thankful I stayed up after the Giants debacle of a game last night so I could see how you, uh, handled the story on Italy replacing the missing parts on their statues…with magnets. Classic.
    But after seeing what Cat wrote, I won’t.
    Instead I’ll just say I’m thankful for my family, friends, clients and colleagues. And for every day.
    All best wishes for a great holiday to you both, Gerry.

    • Gerry says:

      Ed, I’m glad somebody stayed up to watch that!!! Thanks, and I hope you have a great one too.
      (And I’m sure Cat isn’t out to bum anyone out. I’m glad she shared her story.)

  3. Gene Sheehan says:

    I’m thankful I’ll be seeing you on Wednesday. I know it’s selfish but it’s always such a pleasure to share time with you, Mr. Brooks. Geno

  4. I don’t know him or his family, but I’m thankful for Lt. Joe and all of our service men and women home or away. Thanks for putting things in perspective. I’ll stop complaining about having spent the weekend cleaning my house for Thanksgiving company in the form of family. Now I might even enjoy having them here for the holiday (even the mother-in-law … ugh!).

    • Gerry says:

      Moi aussi, AA.
      My wife and I were doing the same thing over the weekend. I did the dusting. Instant gratification. First there’s dust, then there’s not.

  5. RJM says:

    I am thankful that my nephew, who just turned 40 today, will be hosting Thanksgiving at his new home in NH. This kid has been fighting cancer for eight long years and is finally receiving good news. Without going into all of his struggles, LIFE IS GOOD! Let’s hope the good news continues!!
    Happy Holidays!

  6. Welcome home Joe…and thanks for your service..Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

