The Senator

That’s what they call Tom Monahan under the golden dome in Hartford, and occasionally around the newsroom.  I don’t know who coined that nickname for him, but it fits so nicely.

This is Tom’s final full-time week at NBC Connecticut.  What a slacker.  He only lasted 40+ years. 

I could heap platitude upon platitude, but here’s all I want you to know about Tom Monahan: he is a friend, a consummate professional, and above all, a true gentleman. 

Enjoy his work for the rest of the week. 

I will.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in People, Politics, TV Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Senator

  1. pete says:

    a better political reporter would be hard to find. a better person, impossible. good luck mr. monahan!

  2. Beckie says:

    I remember watching Mr. Monahan when I was little. I wish him much happiness and a long healthy retirement.

  3. Cat says:

    Mr. Monahan will be missed.
    A gentlemen indeed.
    The most memorable moment of Tom for me, is one I shared with you Gerry…in fact, I know it’s what started you and I to email on this blog…
    It was funny,,not to Tom at the time, but it did make me laugh…….
    I’m sure we will still see Mr. Monahan around,,,
    Wish him this very best on his next chapter in life///

  4. Kevin says:

    years ago while working as an intern in Hartford, I use to talk to Tom on occasion, nothing much was said ,just me answering a few questions and taking a message, but in those very short exchanges you can get a feel for what kind of a person someone is.
    Tom always had a pleasant & professional demeanor on the phone and seemed like an overall nice guy.
    I’ve always enjoyed Tom’s work and wish him the best in his well earned retirement.

  5. Wendy says:

    He’s been a part of the news for me forever ~ well 40+ years. I will miss him. He offered credibility, warmth, and knowledge always. Good luck to him along with wishes for his lengthy vacation! Enjoy, Mr. Monahan; you’ve more than earned it!

  6. John says:

    Tom is the bomb. There will never be another like him!

  7. Kathryn D. says:

    Gerry, thank you for letting us know. I have always enjoyed his reports.

  8. Gerry's Mentor says:

    A true gentleman and a fine journalist with whom the story came first, instead of the suit who was telling it.

  9. Amy says:

    I couldn’t agree more. When I worked at NBC30 Tom was always one the nicest guys in the newsroom. He always had a smile on his face and would assist me in my journalism classes for grad school. He will surely be missed. He is one-of-a-kind and truly a class act.

  10. Gerry says:

    Thank you all for your kind comments.

  11. T Bone says:

    I (long-time director at NBC30) came up with that name after working with Tom for a short time. The way he would do his political reports so professionally and the way he handled himself around the state house, he looked like a ‘Senator from Connecticut,’ so i started calling him Senator and everyone in the newsroom started doing it.
    Now you know the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

