A Long Life Well Lived

I scan the obituaries every morning for names and faces I might know, and unfortunately, today I came across one that jumped out at me.

BARSTOW, Dr. Robbins Wolcott, Jr.

Dr. Robbins Barstow

Rob Barstow was 91 when he died on Sunday.  I’d been doing stories on him (and his wonderful family) for years.

Rob was trying to save the whales before whales knew they needed saving.

He also turned his passion (most people turn their attention, but passion is a better word when you’re talking about this man) to home movies.  A Barstow family film called Disneyland Dream is in the permanent collection of the National Library of Congress.  If you have the time, give it a look.

I’m often asked about the “famous people” I’ve met over the course of my career.  Truth is, I don’t much care about famous people.  But I so appreciate getting the chance to know good people like Robbins Barstow.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Long Life Well Lived

  1. Dee says:

    I totally agree Gerry. He was a true inspiration.

  2. bob says:

    And there are a lot more really good people out there than famous…and good usually lasts longer
    That being said…you have very nice friends…they chatted till after midnight…last table …too bad we didn’t have a piano player.
    That might be a good idea…

    .

  3. tricia says:

    I’m sorry to hear of Dr. Barstow’s passing.
    I met him exactly one time, outside of the Manchester Public Library (Cheney branch on Main Street). I had just moved to Manchester a few months before, and was bringing my daughters to get books.
    A tall, white-haired man approached me on the sidewalk, politely asked to speak with me, and explained he was making a film about Manchester.
    I was pleased to tell him that I chose to live in Manchester – I wasn’t born there, I didn’t work there – I had considered many surrounding towns and decided Manchester was the place to move my young family.
    He seemed pleased by my comments. He thanked me and walked away.
    I decided then that I had made the right decision.

  4. mikeb says:

    How sad to hear of Dr Barstow’s passing. I had a few conversations with him and they were always memorable. He truly is an inspiration to many.

  5. Gerry says:

    Thank you all for your comments.

Leave a Reply

