A Thank You Note

When someone does something nice for you, you should always acknowledge.  So in that spirit…

Dear Linda and Dick and Tom and Dan and Chris and Sam and on and on (but especially you, Linda):

Thank you for paying my salary for the last several months.  Not only my salary, but the salaries of everyone who works in Connecticut television.  I know, not everyone enjoyed exactly how you all spent your money, but spend you did.  And spend and spend.  So again, thank you so much, and we’ll see you again in two or four or six years.  Good luck on Tuesday.

Sincerely,

Gerry

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, People, Politics, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Thank You Note

  1. You should hope she loses by a tiny margin so she tries again.

  2. Beckie says:

    Emily Post is smiling, Gerry. 🙂

  3. Cat says:

    I thank them too,,
    The tie you wore this evening is outstanding, fabulous, very striking.
    Love it!
    Say goodnight Gerry.. : )

  4. Kathryn D. says:

    Do not despair…..Christmas advertisements are not that far behind Election Day!

  5. Ken Krayeske says:

    This blithe gesture of gratitude is precisely why we will never see major media outlets advocating for the re-institution of federal Fair Time provisions. TV stations make too much money off of the elections. We have turned our democracy into a big business, and it is being mined for profit.

    Every time I drive by Channel 30’s headquarters off I84 in Farmington, I think that Ned and Joe built it, same with Channel 3’s new hq in Rocky Hill. Campaign money should go toward voter turnout, and not towards the psychological warfare that are campaign ads. We even call it bombing the airwaves or saturation, like saturation bombing, when candidates do big ad buys.

    I’m glad you think Linda was good for your life, Gerry, and by your picture, I see it has given you access to tropical vacations.

    Unfortunately, there are millions out here who have been completely turned off by politics because of her and her propping up the failed GOP ideology with nonstop propaganda. Our state and country suffer for it.

    • Gerry says:

      Ken, thanks for your contribution. I have read your hundreds of campaign tweets with interest, and I agree that reform is needed.

      The shot at the building is petty. Ned and Joe may have contributed some bathroom fixtures. The building itself was 30 years overdue.

      But Ken, where you’re really wrong is that Linda contributes to my tropical vacations. I take them. I love them. And they’re all courtesy of my hard-working wife and her job benefits. And to that, Ken, all I can say is I will not give back a single vacation day. Not a day back.

  6. Laugh out loud funny, Mr. Brooks. Thank you!

  7. Keep taking those vacations Gerry..you have earned them…..Ken…it’s called SATIRE!

Leave a Reply

