Death Lives

The issue of the death penalty was raised again in Tuesday night’s gubernatorial debate on NBC Connecticut.

Dan Malloy’s against the death penalty; Tom Foley’s for it.

It is a political issue this year, because Steven Hayes is knocking on the door of the death penalty for the Petit murders.  Or not.  We’ll know soon enough.

I refrain from comment on political issues because, well, I must.  It says so in the “Pro Anchorman’s Handbook.”

But since I witnessed the execution of mass murderer Michael Ross more than five years ago, I can bring a little insight to the issue.

I was always staunchly pro-death penalty.  But my big takeaway from that evening was: “This strikes me as a better deal than a sentence of life without parole.”  (But hey, that’s just me.)

Since that night, I see “death” as a sentence.  I see “life without parole” as torture.

If you’re for the death penalty, I won’t argue with you.  If you’re a “lock ’em up and throw away the key” person, that’s fine too.

Take your pick.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People, Politics, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Death Lives

  1. A good case can be made for both with the Hayes situation. What is disturbing to me is how much we taxpayers must pay to either a) feed and maintain the life of such a murderer, or b) subsidize their appeal efforts against the death penalty.
    It’s beyond bad enough that residents of our state had to suffer horrendously from the actions of such murderers- but then we all have to go on paying for them for the rest of their lives, whether that turns out to be short or long. As I recall reading, that goes from hundreds of thousands of dollars up to millions (if they use a lot of resources appealing the death penalty).
    It adds insult to the horrific injury.
    Shouldn’t there be a law that the murderer’s family be required to pay for their incarceration- instead of the state’s taxpayers? Maybe if that was the law the sheer humiliation would actually be a deterrent.

  2. Lori says:

    I must say that I have always been a “lock em up and throw away the key” type of person. Nothing can bring anyone back…..but after reading about the horrific atrocities committed in the Petit house…..I no longer know what I believe.

  3. Steve says:

    It’s $millions cheaper for the taxpayer to keep them locked up, even for decades. In a cell for 23-hrs a day for 40, 50 years with minimal human contact is far more punitive than the death penalty. Nobody gets closure from the death penalty, they just get revenge.

  4. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Let the murderer choose his own punishment: life or death.

    Once he chooses, give him the other one.

  5. Dave says:

    I believe in the death penalty. The problem is with the law itself. Countless appeals lead to years of endless frustration. Look how long it took to put Michael Ross
    to death, even though he wanted to be executed!! Why do we need to put the victims’ families through this long, agonizing, process. I feel terrible that the Petit family will need to go through this needless torture for many more years with the inevitable years of appeals. Maybe it’s time to look at the death penalty laws in Texas and Florida. They seem to be working just fine without 10 or 15 year appeal process.

  6. Lil em’s comment is an impossible act to follow. I like the way he thinks, too. And have since the 80s when I told my boss this is a guy you must hire. That said. I have one quibble. Life without parole may be torture. Cruel and unusual punishment. Death sentence with decades on death row? Very cruel and unusual punishment.

    But, as I said. Nothing’s gonna top Lil em’s idea. Brilliant.

  7. Gerry says:

    Thank you all for your thoughts on this subject. Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

