On Main Street

My wife and I went to dinner Saturday night in downtown Hartford.  We had a great meal, and contemplated the possibility of a stroll down the street for a nightcap.  It was only 9:30.

And then we stepped outside.

There were flashing lights on the left of Main Street, and there were more on the right.  Police were everywhere (which is a good thing, I suppose) tending to what appeared to be crimes of a minor nature.  Still, not conducive to taking a walk on a nice night. 

The valet parking attendant got our car, and we went home.

My wife was born and brought up in Hartford.  I worked downtown for more than a dozen years. 

So what must people who aren’t familiar with the city think? 

What a shame.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, Noticed and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On Main Street

  1. G.M.Duclos says:

    I grew up In HTFD, on Park St., it’s just not the same.

  2. Mary says:

    My husband use to work down town, just not the same is an understatement. We did go out one Saturday night this summer, we hit up several spots,walking and having a wonderful time but it stayed lighter longer then. We probably left the city by 10:30, just when the youths of today go out.

  3. Shar says:

    I remember when I was a kid growing up in Hartford, and my friends and I would go downtown on our own. We would hop on the bus, and walk all over Main Street and have a great time.

    Last week I went to the XL Center to see the basketball game with the Celtics and Knicks. There were two police officers outside of the building, but when I walked into the first door, there were four sclapers asking me if I wanted/needed tickiets or if I wanted to sell any. These guys followed me into the building, even though I kept saying ‘No’ to their questions.

    My dad’s parents are buried in a cemetary in Hartford, in which when I go, I have to call the Police Department to let them know I’m going to be there, and I have to wait until a Patrol Car goes into the cemetary first.

    It still amazes me how much things have changed in Hartford. Hearing about the drive by’s, the stabbings, hit and runs. Whatever happened to those carefree days?

  4. Gerry says:

    I wouldn’t expect everything to be the same. Or maybe even anything to be the same. But I would expect to be able to take a walk on Main St. after dinner.

  5. melissa says:

    You lnow it’s bad when your friend comes for a visit from out of state (Arizona) and wants to go sightseeing. I say well there are lots of great places to visit in Hartford and she says NO WAY! I have heard to many bad things to even step foot in that city.

    It’s sad. That the bad reputation trumps anything good in our capital.

  6. T Bone says:

    all cities are like that…you should see the ones in iraq !

  7. I lived on Farmington Ave in the late 60s. Next to what was then the Aetna Diner. I was a walker and still am. The hood in which I now walk is safe. The hood in which I then walked was safe. I walked up Farmington, down Garden and Laurel streets. I walked down to Capital Avenue, then walked up Broad.

    I walked after the sun went down. After dark.

    If I did this today? I’d be crazy. A risk taking mad man.

    I hear you. The street signs these days are signs of the times.

  8. Hartford. Just when I think I’m out, it pulls me back in. And each time I’m disappointed and have no desire to return. Except that I work there, at a place that has had three shootings within its two block radius (not downtown!) in the last year. Did I mention I’m looking for another job in another city or town? It is a shame. I enjoyed working in Hartford at another company downtown back in the days of the Whalers, G. Fox, and shopping at the Civic Center during my lunch hour.

    • Gerry says:

      In the 80’s, we got out of work then stayed downtown to have some fun.
      I used to do most of the my shopping there, too. Luettgen’s and Henry Miller at the Civic Center for clothes, browse the new releases at Al Franklin’s…
      The year I did some Xmas shopping at G. Fox and had most of the store to myself, I knew the end was near.

Leave a Reply

