Before Glee…

There was Penny.  My Penny.

But before I get ahead of myself…it seems there is a fair amount of teeth gnashing over the three cast members of “Glee” who posed for GQ.  And let’s be honest.  Nobody cares about the guy.

Cable’s having a field day with the story because they can show pictures.  Like this.

Like I said, nobody cares about the guy.

But pretty young things posing provocatively is nothing new.  Back to my Penny.  She was the niece on “Sky King.”  I loved Sky King when I was a kid.  And I loved Penny, played by Gloria Winters

And even way back when…yes…pre-color…an attractive young actress might show a little skin to further a budding career.

Yes, even my Penny.

Writing this ode to Penny, I discovered that she (Ms. Winters) left us in August. 

What a week.  June Cleaver may have been America’s mom, and Howard Cunningham may have been America’s dad.

But Penny?  She was all mine.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, Living in the Past, News, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Before Glee…

  1. Gerry,
    I was fortunate enough to see “Spring Awakening” on Broadway early in its run, with the original cast. In my opinion, it deserved it’s Tony Awards for Best Musical that year.
    Lea Michele was the female lead and a key scene was when her character loses her virginity on stage to Jonathan Groff’s character.
    That scene, graphic as it was, was very appropriate in the context of the show- but showed far more to the audience each night then this photo shoot.
    So this is nothing new (for Lea, at least).
    That scene was even depicted on the cover of the cast album: http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/playbill_2129_66508527

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Hubba-hubba!

  3. Steve says:

    Gail Davis as “Annie Oakley” got my spurs a-jingling.

  4. Herb says:

    Everybody remembers Penny. Who remembers the “Songbird”? I also remember and liked “Whirlybirds” as well…I guess I was a late bloomer. I liked planes and ‘copters…LOL!

  5. Cowboy hats. Cowboy boots. Spurs. All this post needs is a horse.

    Speaking of which. My wife went to the grocery store yesterday. I had printed out the story in the Register about Horse Man. For some reason it printed out larger than I intended. The guy’s mugs shots covered an entire half page. The dog, as the dog does, got a hold of the print out and tore it up. We saved part of it and wrote our grocery list on the back of it. On the other side were the mug shots of the Horse Whisperer from Shelton. My wife ran into a friend in the store. As she and her friend were talking, Donna inadvertantly dropped the list on the floor. Mug shot side up. Her friend saw it and asked, ” Is that your husband? ”

    This story may never die. As long as it keeps me laughing.

  6. Mary says:

    Like I said skin sells, agree, disagree. It really is out of control, parents don’t let your kids read the magazine, which wasn’t intended for them anyways. When you make a mountain out of a mole hill, you give more attention to the issue, and isn’t that what the ad wanted to do ? Of course Penny was all yours Gerry………

    • Gerry says:

      You got it, Mary. GQ should send that parents organization a nice thank you gift for giving this issue more attention than it ever would have received. And really, kids read GQ?

  7. richb says:

    I used to enjoy Sky King. If memory serves me correctly as the series progressed Sky King got a bigger Songbird. The first one had a “V” tail I believe. Remember it was sponsored by Nabisco and their little logo used to fly around the screen during commercial. I think the show came on right before ‘Clutch Cargo’. Man, I need to get out more….

Leave a Reply

