Another Reason the Goal is to Get Old

A day like today.

I find that the older I get, the less likely I am to take for granted what’s around me.

No, I didn’t wander through woods listening to chirping birds.  But in the course of going about my business, I found myself soaking in the clear blue skies and the foliage in a way I never used to.  I think it’s called appreciating your surroundings.

I write this just after the 33rd and final miner was brought to safety.  Imagine how they feel.  How they appreciate their surroundings.

Of course, there’s no telling how “Miner #21” feels.  Johnny Barrios.  He’d the dude who was greeted by his mistress instead of his wife.  He’s got a story to tell. 

Or sell.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, News, Noticed, People, Weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Another Reason the Goal is to Get Old

  1. Beckie says:

    In the last two years, I’ve discovered the joy of life’s simple pleasures, like today.
    My daughter was born 2 1/2 mos. early, weighing 2 lbs. 3 oz., because my blood pressure went thru the roof (160/180, stroke range) and I went into a flash pulmonary edema (my lungs were filling with fluid and I was literally drowning.) She was born by emergency c-sect while I was on a ventilator under general anesthesia.
    We spent 4 months in NICU. Thankfully, our baby was fairly healthy. Many were not. We saw a LOT and know exactly where we COULD be. We are thankfully every day for the labor & delivery, maternity and NICUs at John Dempsey Hospital. If it weren’t for the people who work there, neither of us would be here today.
    Today, when the weather was absolutely gorgeous, my daughter and I spent the day with the windows open, making apple cake, coloring and leaf hunting in the yard. It doesn’t get any better!

    • Gerry says:

      No it doesn’t.
      And Beckie, my niece was a severe preemie who checked in at just about a pound. She’s a college junior who just celebrated her 21st birthday.

      • Beckie says:

        It is amazing to see those micropreemies years later. We’ve kept in touch with many of our NICU neighbors. Some have their issues, though minor. Others are completely normal. My own daughter has eating issues, though she’s pretty much over them. She is a healthy, happy (most of the time) 2-yr.-old, tantrums and all. Every time she has one, I say to myself thru gritted teeth, “She’s a GIFT!” 🙂

      • Beckie says:

        Gerry—Don’t know how else to get this to you, but I thought you might be interested. http://marchofdimes.com/fight
        It’s a one day event for bloggers to bring attention to premature births and how to prevent them. I found it thru the CT MOD Website, but I believe it’s a nationwide event.

      • Gerry says:

        Any idea which day?

      • Beckie says:

        I believe the date for the March of Dimes Blog event is Nov. 17.

      • Gerry says:

        Thank you. (Remind me!)

  2. Linda says:

    I, too, have found myself appreciating my surroundings a lot more than I used to. There have been so many disasters lately with hurricanes, earthquakes, floods, mining accidents – I really appreciate when we get a beautiful day. I’m not a summer person, so I found this summer very uncomfortable – which makes these nice cool days and bright blue skies even more enjoyable. I was fascinated with the Chile mine disaster. The Chilean government did such a wonderful job in coordinating everything. It was so well planned and thought out – very impressive. Whether the government had something to do with the poor mining conditions to begin with, it certainly came through when it really counted. I know it is interesting to know a little about the miners, but I’m thinking no. 21 wishes his life didn’t become so public!

  3. Mary says:

    It’s funny you should mention how beautiful our surrounding are, my parents sent me a picture they took at their condo in Fort Myers, it was a sunset like I’ve never seen, and just this morning coming to work the Hartford skyline was amazing. Perhaps it is age, there has to be some good in the aging process. The miner with many hands in the fire was certainly interesting, and like you said going forward he’ll have many decisions, but after the ordeal he went through I’m sure he’ll be fine.

  4. Gerry says:

    All Johnny needs is a good agent and a ghostwriter.

  5. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Surroundings? . . . I have surroundings?

Leave a Reply

