Old Home Weekend

Go to Cape to celebrate Ma’s birthday.  Check.

Play golf with baby bro on course we really like.  Check.

Go to Framingham for high school reunion.  Check.

Come home to go to work (where I can finally relax).  Check.

Connecticut has been my home for 36 years; my entire adult life.  But Framingham, MA is where I’m from.   The Class of ’70 at Framingham North High School has had reunions every five years.  I’ve been to each and every one of them, and enjoyed them all.  Some people I wish I could see more often; for others, every five years is just fine. 

The crowds get smaller with each passing get-together.  There are new names added to the list of those no longer with us.  But these are generally joyful occasions, when people are genuinely happy to see and be seen.  Look, I’m still alive!  And so are you!

On the way out, I got to drive by some of the hundreds of ranch houses built on concrete slabs in the mid-’50s.  They were in big developments called Cherryfield, Pinefield and Ridgefield.  A lot of us grew up in these houses.  Mostly, Chevys and Fords filled the single car garages.  Nobody really had much more or much less than anyone else.

That's a '66 BelAir in the driveway.

It was a damn fine way to grow up. 

On to 2015.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Old Home Weekend

  1. Mary says:

    Sounds like a fine weekend, I feel the same about reunions, some people you’d love to see more, and some, it seems never left high school. The ranch does have fond memories, we started our family in one like our parents did, moved to the colonial and can’t wait to settle back in the ranch post children/grandpuppies. I remind the girls as often as I can, so much cheaper.

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    An engaging apercu of “life as she once was.” Thanks.

    By the way, what’s the metal thing sticking up behind the chimney?

  3. Amy Froebel says:

    I really loved this post. Even though I’ve been in Scottsdale for over 3 years now I still refer to CT as home. People tell me I need to get over it and move on, but for me CT being home is something that I don’t think will ever change.

Leave a Reply

