The Difference Between 80 and 81

In my continuing quest to break 80 on the golf course (any golf course), I carded an 81 over the weekend at lovely Tallwood C.C. in Hebron.

I knew I was close, but at no time did I ask the keeper of the card, Tall Paul, what my score was.  I also knew that my chances to record the magic number were severely diminished by a ball that mysteriously vanished into thin air after nicking a tree on the 8th hole.  In a round populated by pars and bogeys, the score on the Unfortunate Eighth was a triple-bogey 7.

And so it was that I shot a 41-40-81, which is far preferable to an 80.

Why?

If I’d missed my goal by one shot, I would still be obsessing over every putt left short, every missed opportunity.  Missing by two shots, not so much.

15th hole at Tallwood CC

If you couldn’t possibly care less, I completely understand.  There’s no reason why you should.

But as we switch from polo shirts to sweaters, from shorts to long pants, I’m coming to grips that time is running out.  Another season may go by with the magic number just beyond my grasp.

On the other hand…

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Difference Between 80 and 81

  1. Bruce B says:

    Gerry you have a very realistic out look. You will be rewarded for it someday. I have heard of others who throw clubs into water hazards and such because they missed one shot. You keep on trying and you shall be rewarded. It almost sounds religious, but then again so does golf to me. Good luck.

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Congratulations on a great round.

    Jim Valvano, the late coach of erstwhile NCAA hoops champion North Carolina State, had a credo that went went something like, “First you have to put yourself in position to win. Then you can win.”

    You’re halfway home, man! You got close and you’ll get close again. Then one day – Bingo! See, it’s sorta like dating a girl. Once you . . . uh, strike that.

    Anyway, rest assured that 41-40 is infinitely better than 37-44. Take it from a guy who knows.

  3. Steve says:

    It WILL happen. If you are good enough to shoot 81’s, you are good enough to shoot a 79. I’m pulling for you to join the fraternity!

  4. Sue D says:

    I get it! Congrats on a great round… it’ll happen… and I’m totally with you, not asking your score when you’re playing well 🙂

  5. I still remember you hitting that homer against us in the ad agency softball league back in the 80s. This guy has a great swing, I thought. And I thought about golf.

    You will shoot that magical round. You will.

Leave a Reply

