The Fine Line Between Comedy and Tragedy

The headline says it all:  Tycoon who took over Segway firm dies in freak accident after riding one of the machines off a cliff and into a river.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Fine Line Between Comedy and Tragedy

  1. Talk about mixed feelings. It is tragic, but this one is going to generate a lot of graveyard humor. Another headline could be:

    Millionaire Owner Segways From This Life To Next One.

  2. Linda says:

    I just read about this about an hour ago and my first and second reactions were simultaneous – horror about a person going over a cliff, and a little humor that the owner of the Segway couldn’t control his vehicle. I was surprised that I didn’t see anything about it on any newscasts this morning – or I missed it. I’m wondering how the late night comedians will handle it.

  3. Wendy says:

    I really think that Terrence’s response sums it up just perfectly! I cannot begin to stifle my chuckling…

  4. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    If I nick myself shaving, that’s a tragedy.

    If a guy drives his segway off a cliff and dies, that’s comedy.

    (With apologies to Mel Brooks.)

Leave a Reply

