Bill Petit’s Pain

No one could possibly understand the depths of pain, despair and anguish this man has experienced.

But on Sunday, on what would have been his wife’s 52nd birthday, Bill Petit smiled and greeted thousands of supporters at a Petit Family Foundation fundraiser. 

On Tuesday, he will return to court and hear more grisly testimony about his wife’s murder, and the murders of his two daughters.

Does a moment go by when he doesn’t think about those he lost, and the circumstances by which he lost them?  The “what ifs” and “why me’s?”  Does he have a moment’s peace?

I don’t know how he does it.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bill Petit’s Pain

  1. Mark says:

    I don’t know how he does it either, Gerry. I’m a husband with two young children, and I have tried to think what I would be feeling if I went through this. I can’t have it on my conscious mind for more than five seconds before it becomes too much to bear and I stop. He has to live with it as reality. I don’t know how he gets out of bed in the morning, but God bless him.

  2. Stratos Bonos says:

    I think the same thing all of the time. I can’t begin to imagine how he finds the strength everyday to continue on. I imagine it is through the support and love we all feel for him that keeps him going forward. God bless the DR. The one thing that can never be taken away from him is his memories of his family and the times they did have together. I hope it keeps him warm and his heart as full as it can be.

Leave a Reply

