Tough Luck

Friday is the new Saturday, and I’m beginning autumn with a summer cold.  Go figure.

So I’m spending a very quiet day with a novel, “The Girl Who Played with Fire,” by Stieg Larsson.

Stieg Larsson

I read the first of his so-called Millenium trilogy, “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo,” on vacation.  I couldn’t help but notice that all three novels in the series were dominating the bestseller lists, and I was curious what all the buzz was about.

After a painfully slow start, Larsson grabs you.  It’s entertaining stuff, and his heroine, or anti-heroine as the case may be, Lisbeth Salander, is a good character.

But an even better character may be Larsson himself.  He’s sold millions of the novels.  But he dropped dead of a heart attack in 2004, at 50, just before they were published.

That is my new definition of “bummer.” 

Now back to the book.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Tough Luck

  1. Wendy says:

    Yup…they ARE best sellers!! Enjoy! Have a hot toddy; could be your version of “playing with fire”. 🙂 Feel better!

  2. Mary says:

    Nothing worse than a summer cold after the fact, gosh that’s terrible about the author, like you said live every day to the fullest. Feel better, wish I was home with a good book minus the cold.

  3. Linda says:

    Larsson’s books are hugely popular. Our library has very long waiting lists for each one. Many, many book clubs across the state are reading them too. I’ve heard mix reviews about them….I’m glad you are enjoying them. So sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. Your body must be protesting being back in Connecticut. Or maybe that lack of oxygen is finally catching up with you. Hope you’re better for the Sunday newscast.

  4. Alex says:

    Fun fact: the Swedish title of the first book in the series is actually something along the lines of “Men who Hate Women.” Given the various abuses visited upon the title character, I can’t say that’s entirely inaccurate, but I still wonder how they might’ve sold with that title Stateside.

  5. Why don’t they make Tuesday the new Monday?

  6. Cat says:

    Sorry your feeling under the weather Gerry.
    You need 1 1/2 ounces of JD, 1 tablespoon of honey, microwave for 10 seconds and down it.. (maybe better test it first)
    Get into bed and sweat………… (sorry Mrs Brooks) 😦
    I hope it works for you, does for moi…..

  7. Gerry says:

    Thank you all for your comments (and especially your liquid advice)!

  8. Hope you’re feeling better! Just saw the movie The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Rough at times, of course, but good. I was sorry to learn that Hollywood is doing a remake – I can’t imagine it will be the same.

Leave a Reply

