My Hummingbird

He’s been coming to our kitchen window for weeks, feeding off the hanging flower baskets on either side.

I’ve been trying to snap a picture for weeks, to no avail.  By the time I grab the camera, he’s gone.  As if he knows.

She: “He doesn’t want his picture taken.”

Me: “I’m gonna get him.”

Coming in for a landing.

On the last day of summer, he didn’t just pay a visit.  He taunted.  Hovered right in front of the window between the two baskets. 

My cell phone was sitting there.  I picked it up and made believe I was calling someone.  Yeah, I’d fake the little bastard out.  OK, it was a battle of wits between two birdbrains.

And the bigger birdbrain won. 

BOO-YAH!

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed, Weather and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My Hummingbird

  1. anne says:

    haha, Gerry that’s priceless! One of my customer’s i clean for has a humming bird that comes on occasion. They’re really something 🙂

    • Gerry says:

      Thanks Anne. He is now free to go.

      • Joan says:

        We’ve had hummingbirds at our 2 window feeders since May and since the nights have gotten a bit colder these past 2 weeks, I thought they had gone south for the winter. They are truly a sight to behold with those wings going crazy. I can actually hear them when they are at my feeders. I’ll first hear the buzzing of their wings and then one of them makes a chirping kind of sound. I’ll miss them until they return next Spring.

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Nice try, Gerry. Too bad he blinked.

  3. hendu says:

    Way to dominate a humming bird. Has there been a more manly display than this? I think not!!!

  4. RJM says:

    Awesome, congradulations!

  5. Mary says:

    Kuddos to you, they certainly travel fast, we had some in our front planters last year and just trying to see them was a feat, never mind a picture. Love your determination.

  6. Graham says:

    Do you know why hummingbirds hum?

  7. Congrats – great pic! There’s something here about you both seeing red. For a little bastard, he’s really cute. And smart.

  8. Graham says:

    Hummingbirds hum, because the don’t know the words to the song.

  9. Gerry's Mentor says:

    Oh my. First he’s a archaeologist in strange and distant lands and now he’s a ornithologist. What the hell happened to plain old Ger who could be described by words I didn’t have to look up?

  10. pete says:

    ooh! flying llama!

Leave a Reply

